If you like ___, try this!

Hey guys! So I thought I’d try something new on my blog and although it’s not a new new idea (I’ve seen BookTubers do this), I’m not sure I’ve seen it on a blog before? I could be wrong though!

So, I thought it would be fun to recommend some books to you guys that you might like based off other books that you might have read…. Let me know what you guys think and if you’d like me to do this feature again with a different set of books!

14499083_179812069149006_3256321367762534400_n.jpg

1. If you liked The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons, try The Russian Concubine by Kate Furnivall. 

Like The Bronze Horseman, The Russian Concubine is an adult historical fiction novel that focuses on its main character, Lydia, who is a teenager. This book is one of my favourite books. Yet I never see it around! Lydia and her mother live in the Russian settlement as refugess in Junchow in 1928 after the Bolshevik revolution in Russia. Survival is hard but Lydia is fiesty and steals for her and her mother. Until one day she meets Chang An Lo, and their fates become twisted together in a struggle against war, poverty and the all encompassing love they begin to feel for each other. If you enjoy historical fiction then definitely give this book a go, I can’t recommend it enough!

 2. If you liked Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, try London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn      Middleton. 

Like Fangirl, London Belongs to Me is an NA contemporary with a fangirl character that most of bookstagram will probably relate to! Unlike Fangirl, LBTM‘s main character Alex has just graduated from University/College, so she is a little older. However, both books have a feel of the MC living in a new environment for the first time and having to find their place in the world, as well as making new friends and navigating romantic relationships. All while being adorably nerdy. I absolutely adored London Belongs to Me and definitely recommend it for fans of contemporaries. It’s a fun, cute read!

3. If you liked Heartless by Marissa Meyer, try Trick by Natalia Jaster. 

If you (like me) enjoyed the writing style in Heartless-that lyrically quirky quality that makes you want to savor each word-then you HAVE to check out Trick! Trick is a mature YA that focuses on main characters Poet, a silver tongued court jester with a secret, and Princess Briar, a sceptical girl who’s convinced Poet is lying. The fates force them into an unlikely alliance and a forbidden attraction between them. This book is gorgeously written and if you finish Heartless wanting more whimiscal books about court jesters, then check this one out!

4. If you liked the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella, try the I Heart series by Lindsey Kelk. 

If you’re a fan of funny, romantic novels for adults, like the kind Sophie Kinsella does so well, then you definitely have to check out Lindsey Kelk! She’s the UK answer to Sophie Kinsella and I actually prefer her books. Hilarious and down to earth, start with I Heart New York and fall in love with Angela Clark as she runs away from a nightmare of a wedding (not hers) and is flung straight into an American adventure. Lindsey Kelk has a few series out there as well as a handful of stand alones, but I definitely recommend starting with the I Heart series first!

5. If you liked The Secret History by Donna Tartt, try Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky. 

The Secret History is a brilliantly written modern classic with Dostoevskian themes. So, if you enjoyed it, why not check out the Russian masterpiece itself? Don’t let the size intimidate you; Crime and Punishment is surprisingly readable. And, once you get into it, shockingly gripping. I devoured this book and it’s one of my all time favourites. You won’t be able to get the psychological portrayal of Raskolnikov out of your head. For a very long time! The poor guy is drawn to commit a brutal double murder out of sheer despair and the consequences of injustice within his society. Then things get dramatic. Raskolnikov must deal with his own feelings about the crime as the investigation tightens around him and he becomes increasingly paranoid. If you enjoyed the complexities of The Secret History and couldn’t put it down, I recommend checking out Crime and Punishment.

 

Thanks for reading guys! I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know in the comments if any of you have read these books or will be checking any of these out!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. errinkrystal says:

    I love this idea. Have not read these books, but a few are on my TBR list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, and thank you for reading! Ooh which ones are on your TBR? ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. errinkrystal says:

        Fangirl is on there, I’ve heard good things. And Heartless. I haven’t read Marissa Meyer, but I’ve bought Cinder abd again, heard good things.
        I blame bookstagram, lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well both are great! Happy reading! And bookstagram has a lot to answer for haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. matxi_books says:

    I haven’t read any of the book mentioned here but I am definitely taking note, especially with the shopaholic rec!! I haven’t read the original books but loved the movie, and sometimes you are in that mood for some good chick lit, so I’ll definitely check Kelk’s series!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes, some good chick lit is the best thing ever! Hope you enjoy! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Becca @ Faerily Bookish says:

    I WANT TO READ ALL THESE BOOKS!! I’ve never heard of The Russian Concubine even though I adore HF. It sounds super intriguing! This was a great feature and I hope you do it again! I may tag along and do one too if that’s okay 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, go for it!! And I love The Russian Concubine SO much, I must have read it at least 5 times! 🙊 Thanks for reading lovely! 💕

      Like

  4. arelireads says:

    I need to London Belongs To Me asap ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You do! It’s great!!

      Like

  5. Imogen@WanderedSouls says:

    I love this post! It is such a great idea to have different books to read especially if you love one already. BTW your bookcase is goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post, thank you for reading! ☺️

      Like

Leave a comment