What I’m Reading

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading!”

-Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice.

Hi everyone! Because I’m such a mood reader, I never post monthly TBRs, and because I’m such a fast reader, it’s hard for me to update you all constantly on my current reads! Soooo, I thought it would be a fab idea to post little reading updates here on my blog, about my immediate tbr, along with the blurbs if you’re interested in the book!

What do you all think?

So, here are the books I’m currently reading and what I’ll be reading next, otherwise known as BOOKS TO SELL YOUR SOUL FOR. Because guys. There are some of my *majorly* anticipated titles in this little stack!

Prepare for the flailing.

20838683_301999470273968_6566436930324529152_n

 

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Lee

I’ve been wanting to read this book for ageeees, so when I found it (and rightly guessed it!) in my Owlcrate box, I was thrilled! (Excited squealing and all.) Plus, my bestie Christine loved it, so clearly I need to read it and then run off to flail with her!

Here’s the blurb if you’re interested:

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Witty, dazzling, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is an irresistible romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

See? SEE?! A must-read.

 

Wicked like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic

So, Wicked like a Wildfire comes out in the UK on October 5th, but I have been WAITING and ANTICIPATING this book for what feels like forever, so I’m so glad that the lovely people at Harper 360 realised my need and sent me a copy!

Plus, how insanely GORGEOUS is that cover?! *Mia swoons*

Here’s the blurb:

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic’s debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. 

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

I’m currently reading this one as I’m scheduling this blog post ahead, so I’ll be finished with it as this goes live as I cannot put the thing down! Seriously, blogging is torture today because I’m addicted to Wicked like a Wildfire and Popovic’s lush prose, stuffed with gorgeous pastries and deliciously dark witchery .*Sobs with happiness*

 

The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

I am beyond happy that I was surprised with this ARC from Gollancz. It’s the first book in a YA/crossover series and will come out in the UK on the 12th October. (exactly one month after my birthday…. Subtle reminder that it’s my birthday soon!!!!! Because I have no shame.)

Check out how incredible this fantasy sounds:

Once there was a girl who was drawn to wicked things

Asha is a dragon-slayer. Reviled by the very people she’s sworn to protect, she kills to atone for the wicked deed she committed as a child – one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar.

But protecting her father’s kingdom is a lonely destiny: no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she’s wicked.

Even worse, to unite the fractured kingdom she must marry Jarek, the cruel commandant. As the wedding day approaches, Asha longs for freedom.

Just when it seems her fate is sealed, the king offers her a way out: her freedom in exchange for the head of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard.

And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy . . .

THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war.

….. I just really really need to devour this one soon.

 

Invictus by Ryan Graudin

I loooooved Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin, (let’s all pretend I’m fully on top of things and have already read Blood by Blood, okay?!) so I’m beyond excited to dig into her newest novel, coming out in the UK on September 21st! A huge thanks to Orion Books for sending me an early copy!

Look how good it sounds:

Time is running out . . .

Farway McCarthy was born outside of time. With nowhere to call home and nothing to anchor him to the present, Far captains a crew on a dangerous mission into the past.

When he collides with Eliot – a mysterious, secretive girl, whose very appearance raises questions about time itself – Far immediately distrusts her.

But he must take a leap of faith, following Eliot on a race against time, if he is to protect everything he’s ever loved from disappearing forever . . .

A fast-paced, heart-stopping journey that will leave you breathless

I can’t wait to get to this one!

The Wicked Cometh by Laura Carlin

Unfortunately, this one doesn’t come out until 8th February, 2018! (Can we please talk about how crazy it is that we’re getting books for next year already?! Like where has 2017 gone?!)

But this one sounds amazing. And I definitely don’t keep stroking the cover and whispering “soon” to it. Because that is not something a normal person would do. And I definitely did not flail about when the lovely people at Hodder books sent me a copy of this one.

Here’s the blurb in all its dark glory:

The Wicked Cometh will take readers on a heart-racing journey through backstreets swathed with fog to richly curtained, brightly lit country houses; from the libraries and colleges of gentlemen, to sawdust-strewn gin palaces where ne’er-do-wells drink and scheme, all told through the eyes of a heroine with nothing to lose.

The year is 1831. Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and no one is willing to speak out on behalf of the city’s vulnerable poor as they disappear from the streets.

Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.

When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the fiercely intelligent and mysterious Rebekah Brock. But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new life and both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations.

Hester and Rebekah find themselves crossing every boundary they’ve ever known in pursuit of truth, redemption and passion. But their trust in each other will be tested as a web of deceit begins to unspool, dragging them into the blackest heart of a city where something more depraved than either of them could ever imagine is lurking . . .

ASHIGVEKVEKAKWCBWIUB. It sounds so GOOD.

The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty

Another one from 2018! This one will come out in the UK on 8th March. But it will be worth the wait because I predict massive levels of falling in love with this one.

Check it out:

Step into THE CITY OF BRASS, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty in which the fate of a magical kingdom rests in the hands of a defiant young con artist.

Among the bustling markets of eighteenth century Cairo, the city’s outcasts eke out a living swindling rich Ottoman nobles and foreign invaders alike.

But alongside this new world the old stories linger. Tales of djinn and spirits. Of cities hidden among the swirling sands of the desert, full of enchantment, desire and riches. Where magic pours down every street, hanging in the air like dust.

Many wish their lives could be filled with such wonder, but not Nahri. She knows the trades she uses to get by are just tricks and sleights of hand: there’s nothing magical about them. She only wishes to one day leave Cairo, but as the saying goes…

Be careful what you wish for.

I just, I can’t even. I am dead. DEAD. But thank you Harper Voyager for this magical dream of a book!

20759889_341880026258137_8022446511709224960_n

 

Has anyone read any of these? What did you think? Are any of these on your tbrs too? And what did you think of my reading update, yay or nay for future updates?

Thanks for reading everyone!

Advertisements

One Comment Add yours

  1. Wicked Like a Wildfire and The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue are on my TBR shelf and I am excited for them!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s