My EPIC June Wrap-Up!

“Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August.”

-Jenny Han, The Summer I Turned Pretty 

Hey guys! As some as you might have seen on Bookstagram and Twitter, I managed to read an amazing 30 books this June!

If you’re wondering how:

  1. My husband was working hard on weekends in June, so I occupied myself with reading instead of the things we’d normally spend our weekends doing.
  2. I’m a VERY fast reader.

I’m going to divide the books up and bullet point them so this isn’t too long!

19622923_1211179082321579_8596577098225680384_n

Books sent to me for Review

  • Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare is an epic collection of short stories, set between the events of City of Heavenly Fire and Lady Midnight. Check out my review here.
  • The Waking Land by Callie Bates is a gorgeous YA fantasy and I loved it! Keep an eye out for my review to come!
  • Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais is an adorably uplifting YA contemporary standalone that is perfect for those summer tbrs! Review coming soon!
  • Dating You/Hating You is a fab romance by writing duo Christina Lauren and a must read for romance fans! Review is here.
  • The Little French Bistro by Nina George is a beautiful piece of fiction that will make you think, hungry and wish you were in France! Review here.
  • Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray was my YA sci-fi read of the month! (I don’t read much sci-fi), and it was a fun and intriguing read! Review here.
  • Anything is Possible by Elizabeth Strout was a thought-provoking piece of literary fiction, but sadly not my thing! You can read my review here.
  • Runemarks by Joanne Harris is a dense fantasy that I wanted to enjoy more than I did! Another one that wasn’t for me. Review here.
  • Not Working by Lisa Owens was an adult contemporary that made me giggle and was a fun, fast read! You can read my review here.
  • Roar by Cora Carmack was one of my most anticipated reads of this year and you can read my thoughts on it here!
  • Breaking by Danielle Rollins was a good YA psychological thriller (a mild one), that would be perfect for fans of PLL. Review to come soon!
  • More than one way to be a Girl by Dyan Sheldon was a fun YA contemporary that explored two teenage girls’ relationship with feminism and each other. Review to come soon!
  • Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren is a well-written MG fantasy in a Russian inspired kingdom that has sisterhood and adventure at its heart. Review coming soon!
  • They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera was a heartbreakingly beautiful read. Prepare to shed buckets at this one! Review is coming soon.

 

Books from my TBR

I was really happy with how many books I managed to read from my own shelves this month! Obviously, I make review books a priority and I love getting them, but it’s sometimes nice to get around to something you’ve been meaning to read for a while! So this month was extra-satisfying to me because of that.

  • The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson. This is the final book in the YA Remnants trilogy, and although I hadn’t read the second book in like a year and this is a BEAST of a book, I really enjoyed reading it and got sucked back in quickly! 4.5/5 stars.
  • The Witches of East End by Melissa de La Cruz. This was like a literary witchy book for adults and I really loved it! 4/5 stars.
  • Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman. This wasn’t as piratey as I thought it would be but still addictive. It’s the story of the earlier years of Edward Teach, before he became Blackbeard. I hear the sequel, Blacksouls, is more piratey, so I’m excited for that! 3.5/5 for this one.
  • Cleopatra’s Shadows by Emily Holleman. An adult historical fiction telling the story of Cleopatra’s two sisters? I had high hopes for this one. Unfortunately, it was really hard to get through and I almost DNF-ed it! 2/5 stars.
  • So Much Closer by Susane Colasante. A cute, YA contemporary that’s short and sweet! 3.5/5 stars.
  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. The only one of Maggie’s books I hadn’t read! I was desperate to get to this and I ADORED it. As I suspected I would! A YA magical realism standalone, set in Ireland some years ago. 5/5 stars.
  • The Killing of Kayla Sloane by Kim Harrington. A YA ghost story. Quite same-y as other paranormal YA books set in an American high school, but enjoyable enough as a quick read! 3/5 stars.
  • The Widow’s House by Carol Goodman. I ADORE Carol Goodman’s books-her settings are just brilliant. An adult, literary/contemporary ghost story, I was hooked on this one! 5/5 stars.
  • New York, Actually by Sarah Morgan. Sarah Morgan is one of my fave ever contemporary romance authors. Her books are fun, modern and always have great settings and characters! I know exactly what I’m going to get with them and I love them every time. 4/5 stars.
  • A Summer at Sea by Katie Fforde. Sadly, I wasn’t feeling this one as much! The characters felt a little dated to me and I didn’t get as hooked into it as I hoped I would! It’s another adult contemporary romance, but 3/5 stars for this one.
  • Book of Lies by Teri Terry. An older YA paranormal about twin witches. This one was hard to pin down and constantly surprising me! I didn’t love it but I was addicted the whole time I was reading it! 3.5/5 stars.
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman. This one was short, sad and sweet in turns. I adored the setting. A YA contemporary about a girl who has a car accident where her parents and brother die, but she must choose whether to join them or stay behind. It’s lovely but it’s a tear-jerker! 4/5 stars.
  • Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. This was another cute and sad read, but unfortunately, the movie trailer (which I haven’t seen), spoilt everything everything for me! (Yes, I went there. No, I don’t regret it). A YA contemporary that I’m sure you’ve heard of, I had mixed feelings about this one! 3/5 stars.
  • Incubus by Carol Goodman. This one was a re-read for me after being so hooked on The Widow’s House and needing a fix! An adult magical realism/paranormal blend of a university lecturer in a small town, visited at night by an incubus… I buddy read this one with my bestie Alex, and it was 5/5 stars as usual for me.
  • The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden. This was one I’d been wanting to read for AGES but was holding off on because I couldn’t get my hands on the gorgeous US hardback edition that I REALLY wanted! And then Alex surprised me with it and I was happy forever. An adult fantasy retelling, this one’s set in Russia and is just BEAUTIFUL. 5/5 stars, and, spoiler alert, I really loved this one.
  • The Obsession by Nora Roberts. This one was my first Nora Roberts read! Obviously I’d heard things about this prolific author, but I’d assumed she wrote your standard Mills and Book romances so wasn’t interested. (Nothing wrong with those of course, I just have my fave romance authors I prefer, and I wasn’t as interested in hers.) However, I picked up The Obsession when I saw it on offer in the supermarket and thought the blurb looked interesting. Part contemporary romance, part psychological thriller about serial killers, this was not what I was expecting in the best possible way and I was HOOKED. 5/5 stars.

 

Woah that took a long time! I’m amazed if you made it to the end of that!! Thanks so much for reading if you did! What did you read this month that you enjoyed? And have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. judithcmoore says:

    Nice to ‘meet’ a fellow speedreader!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! Thanks for reading! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If I ever manage to read 30 books per month, I will treat myself with a lot of chocolate and pizzas 😀 It’s crazy! Some great books also ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hehe that sounds like a great plan! And yeah, I was happy with most of them! ☺️ Thanks for reading! 💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Chelsea (lostamongthepages) says:

    Amazing! I’m working I my speed but it’s taking a while. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keep at it! I get faster every few years or so, but it’s definitely worth the time spent practicing! ☺️

      Like

  4. You sure read a lot! And I was so proud of my 12 books, haha.

    I also read Roar by Cora Carmack and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.
    Roar was just amazing. I couldn’t help but fall in love with the entire world Cora Carmack created and will be one of the first to pre-order the sequel – whenever it may be published.
    Everything Everything was a nice in-between read. I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t “wow”. At first I was curious about the movie, but I don’t really feel like watching it. Reading the book was enough, I guess.

    Enjoy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should be proud! Everyone has different reading speeds ☺️ Yeah, I’m excited for the sequel to Roar, too! And I’m the same about Everything Everything, I don’t think I’ll bother with the movie! 😅 Thanks for reading my blog post lovely 😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True! And in a way it’s fun to see that I might eventually read even faster than I am already, haha. I always feel like I don’t read enough.
        You’re welcome! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Of course! I get faster every few years or so! ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

