Song of the Current (Spoiler Free!) Review

Hey guys! Not too long ago, I was thrilled to have been sent an ARC of Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser, from the lovely people at Bloomsbury.

If you like fantasies in gorgeously rendered unique worlds and tales of life aboard the water and pirates, then this is the book for you!

18011196_427004170997695_5409190526794596352_n.jpg

Song of the Current tells the story of Caro. Working with her father on his wherry and destined for the river, she’s waiting for the river god to whisper her name to seal her destiny. So when pirates start burning ships and her father is arrested, Caro seizes her opportunity to take her fate in her own hands and volunteers to transport some secret cargo in exchange for her father’s freedom. Caro thinks that then, piloting the wherry by herself, she’ll finally hear the river god speak. Of course, things are never that easy, the cargo turns out to be infinitely more mysterious and dangerous than Caro could have imagined, and she becomes embroiled in politics and lies and ever-raising stakes as the plot races towards its conclusion, making Caro choose between two different futures.

Caro is a great character, she’s brave and strong and it was great to see her make her own decisions as she navigated the rivers. I love reading about girls on boats/ships and her sailing the wherry was just perfect! I also loved her not very talkative frogman friend, Fee, who was a great addition to the book-we don’t often see many characters that aren’t human, so Fee was fun to read about. I also wasn’t expecting the good dash of romance that this book provides, and as I love shipping couples, I especially loved this one (I won’t spoil it and tell you who!) as it was fiesty with a lot of sparks! I do enjoy my characters being sassy, and Caro was one of my favourite parts of this novel.

My other favourite part of this novel was the world building. The world that Tolcser has created is a fantasy world of rivers and seas and islands, so the great majority of the book takes place on the water. The aesthetic of this murky, river world was brilliantly evoked and for me, that setting, so well-rendered, was the biggest highlight of this book, as it was what made it stand out as startling unique among the fantasies I’ve read.

I’m giving Song of the Current 4/5 stars with my only complaint that it was a little slow to get into at the start, but once I’d passed a certain point and the adventure kicked off, I was hooked! I recommend this one to lovers of YA fantasy and in particular to people who love an atmospheric setting, or books set on ships!

{Song of the Current came out 6th June in the UK and the ARC was 373 pages}

Has anyone else read this one? What did you think?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. judithcmoore says:

    oooh I have a feeling I’m getting this book in a book subscription box soon and I’m super excited!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ooh that’s exciting!

      Like

  2. PIRATES?! Well this just jumped a bit higher up my list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

