May Wrap-Up

 

“If you’re reading this book, then you’re also that child reading by flashlight and dreaming of other worlds. Don’t be scared of her, that inner Beauty, or her dreams. Let her out. She’s you, and she’s me, and she’s magic.”

-Meagan Spooner, Hunted (acknowledgements)

Hey guys! May was a great, productive month for me: I read 17 books and started and finished a rough draft of a book I’d been planning for quite some months! I decided at the beginning of this year that 2017 was going to be an epic reading and writing year for me, and I’m determined to plough through a lot of my tbr this year!

Here are the books I read this month:

18879669_114918722429829_2061639127337533440_n

I’m going to split these up into three areas:

 

Super light books I read after ACOWAR

We all know that a big, dense-with-feels read that you’ve been anticipating can lead to a dreaded reading slump! Bearing this in mind, after I finished ACOWAR in late April, I turned to these books straight away to avoid slumping and it worked! (I don’t tend to give my guilty pleasure books a star rating as I have issues with some of the plot or writing or characters, but I just love reading them!)

  • First Time in Forever by Sarah Morgan. Sarah Morgan is one of my go-to romance authors and her books are modern, cute and saucy and although predictable, I like knowing what I’m getting with each book: Good feels and a happy ending in a great summery or wintry setting. This is the first book in her Puffin Island trilogy and I recommend it as a starting point if you want to try a book by her!
  • Summer Kisses by Sarah Morgan is actually still on my tbr, but I read Summer Fling in May and wasn’t the biggest fan as it was one of her early novels that aren’t quite as good as her later stuff, so I gave it away to my mum to try! Unfortunately, I gave it away before I took my wrap-up photos hence the swap!
  • Cinnamon Roll Murder, Red Velvet Cupcake Murder, Blackberry Pie Murder, Double Fudge Brownie Murder, all by Joanne Fluke. These are all later novels in the Murder She Baked series, another one of my guilty pleasures! A bit cheesy and old-fashioned, this series takes place in a small town where everyone knows everyone else and the main character, Hannah Swensen, owns the bakery The Cookie Jar, where she bakes up a storm and solves murders! Recipes are included in each book and this cosy mystery series has had me addicted for some time! I’m nearly up to date with it and collecting such a long series has been really satisfying, so I want to find another cosy mystery series to get into now!

 

Review Books

In the last few months, I’ve been very lucky to have been sent a great variety of books to review by different publishing companies. These are the books from my review pile that I read in May:

  • A Shiver of Snow and Sky by Lisa Lueddecke. This YA literary fantasy is releasing in October 2017 and is just gorgeous! Definitely a 5 star read and one to keep an eye out for-I’ll be writing my review closer to the time!
  • Truth or Dare by Non Pratt. This YA contemporary tells the same story from two different POVs! Once you’ve read one, you flip it over to read the next one. A concept that I always love. This ARC really hooked me in and I’ll be posting my review very soon as it came out on 1st June.
  • One Italian Summer by Keris Stainton. Cute, sweet and with a big heart, this YA contemporary gave me all the feels! Perfect summer reading and review to come!
  • Borrowed Souls by Chelsea Mueller. This paranormal urban fantasy was very unique and really intriguing to read, although ultimately not one of my faves of this month! Review to come!
  • The Space Between the Stars by Anne Corlett. This novel was a cross between an adult Sci-Fi and dystopian and gave me a lot of feels and also freaked me out a little by the concept! For more information, check out my blog tour here, where you can read an extract from the book.

 

Highly anticipated books and books I’ve been meaning to get to for ageeees

  • Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare DESTROYED ME. 4.5/5 stars.
  • Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. This was one of my most anticipated books of 2017 as I couldn’t get enough of The Wrath and the Dawn and have read it at least 3 times! Unfortunately, I wasn’t as in love with Flame and the Mist, but I still really enjoyed the setting and Ahdieh’s writing style and can’t wait to see what she writes next! 4/5 stars.
  • The Diabolic by S.J.Kincaid was my bookclub’s May read. Unpredictable and unique, this one surprised me as I liked it more than I thought I would! A twisty YA Sci-Fi. 4/5 stars.
  • Hunted by Meagan Spooner. Moody and atmospheric, this is a YA fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in a Russian forest. I LOVED this book and it’s an instant new favourite of mine. 5 million stars/5.
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. I didn’t know quite what to expect with this YA fantasy, but it was brilliantly unique and had some unexpected twists! I really enjoyed this one, although it was a little hard to get into in the start due to the three different stories and characters being introduced. 4/5 stars.

 

And that’s it for May! I can’t believe we’re already in June now, that feels crazy, I’m sure it was just Christmas! I’m planning to have another epic reading and writing month in June, who else wants to tackle their tbrs this month?

Thank you all for reading!

 

{Beauty candle by Book & Nook}

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Sorry for the half comment, Danny knocked my elbow! πŸ˜‚ I’m definitely on board with trying to tackle the TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Who’s Danny?! 😱 And yasss, let’s do it together!

      Like

      1. Oh that’s my 4-year-old cousin!! I’ll have to fill you in on all the family πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You will! You made it sound like he was a pet ahaha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

  2. Whoa! That’s a lot of books. Congrats on such a successful month. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So many books! Hope June will be just as good for you ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m hoping June will be even better! 😊 I hope June’s a great month for you too! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sakina says:

    Definitely going to check out Hunted now! I was a bit hesitant at first, but it’s been getting good reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was slow and moody and atmospheric rather than action packed, but I loved it! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

