To the Stars Who Listen Unboxing

“To the stars that listen-and the dreams that are answered.”

-Sarah J Maas, A Court of Mist and Fury 

Hey guys! As some of you probably already know, I was recently super excited to become a rep for Book & Nook! They are a UK based candle company and I honestly am completely OBSESSED with their candles. Which was why I was intensely happy that they’ve started doing monthly subscription boxes!! *flails with excitement*

May was themed around the release of ACOWAR and if you want to avoid spoilers, then look away now!

FullSizeRender (2)

 

In this box, were five candles in shiny silver tins (very cute, I like it), a bookmark and a gorgeous lipbalm. All five candles were themed around pivotal places in the ACOTAR series so far, which I thought was really cool.

First, let me awkwardly describe the candles and their scents to you!

 

     City of Starlight

 

FullSizeRender (5)

City of Starlight smells like “grapefruit, winter jasmine and dreams.” It’s a gorgeous, delicately fruity with a hit of jasmine scent that smells like a luscious cocktail. I really like this one! (Disclaimer: It is HARD to describe smells so this is purely my own, special commenting that may be completely inaccurate to you!)

 

House of Mist

 

FullSizeRender (6)

Next up is House of Mist, and this one smells of “fireside, snow and amber.” It has a lovely, smoky, musky smell that makes me feel like I’m sitting in a wooden cabin, by a log fire. While it snows outside. If I ever go on a skiing trip, I’m taking this one with me!

Court of Nightmares

 

FullSizeRender (7)

I ADORE this one! It smells like “cranberry, patchouli and vanilla” and has a sweet, fruity smell to it with a deeper warmth to it. Definitely one of my faves.

 

Under the Mountain

 

FullSizeRender (8)

No-one’s favourite locale in this series, but Under the Mountain was definitely a huge turning point, perhaps the biggest one, in the story’s evolution. This candle smells like “sandalwood, fire and myrrh” and has a deep warm and musky scent and smells like HELL. (Not really, it actually smells good haha)

 

Starfall

 

FullSizeRender (4)

I saved the best till last! Starfall smells like “sparkling wine, sea breeze and white musk” and it is an absolute DREAM. I seriously adore this candle-the label, the scent, the name, all of it! It smells fresh and ocean-y and just lovely! This one is my favourite out of the five.

A Secret

Want to know something really cool? The candles all have glitter inside them! As soon as you light them up, you’ll see it begin to shimmer and reveal the glitter hidden inside the candle wax!

 

FullSizeRender (10)

 

I don’t like burning my special candles (yes, I hoard bookish candles because they are TOO SPECIAL AND PRETTY TO BURN), but I lit this one a little so you could see! See the shimmer?! Argh I love it.

 

Extras

FullSizeRender (3)

Here are the extras that came with the candles! We got a double sided bookmark, of which I forgot to take two photos of, naturally! (Keep an eye out for the other side in my future bookstagram photos haha.) And a lipbalm, which is nicely named Rhysand’s Kiss. Very fitting! *swoons* The actual lipbalm is the same colour as the label and it smells gorgeous! Like rhubarb and custard and High Lord’s kisses 😉

Full Unboxing

 

FullSizeRender (9)

Here is the entire unboxing in all its gorgeousness! *heart shaped eyes*

Now, the candles were just limited editions for this box, BUT there will be a vote for which one you want to see made into a full-sized candle available in store, so even if you missed this box, you can vote and get your hands on one! *cough* vote Starfall *cough*

If anyone’s interested, my favourites run in this order:

  1. Starfall
  2. Court of Nightmares
  3. City of Starlight
  4. House of Mist
  5. Under the Mountain

 

The next Book & Nook box is on sale now here, and only a few are left! The theme is Netflix Madness and it will be perfect for fans of Gilmore Girls, Riverdale, Pretty Little Liars and Stranger Things! You can use the code COSY10 to get yourself a 10% discount and hurry while it’s still available!

 

Thank you all for reading! Who else is a fan of bookish candles?

Leave a Reply

