Sci-Fi for Everyone!

“Even in the future the story begins with once upon a time.”

-Marissa Meyer, Cinder

 

Hey guys! I have a confession to make: I don’t enjoy a lot of Sci-Fi. I generally read very widely and will try my hand at most genres… But I rarely pick up a Sci-Fi book. I find a lot of them info dump or are too technical or just skeeve me out! (One person lost in space? TERRIFYING!!) On the off chance that any of you are like me, then here I have the Sci-Fi books that I just could not put down! Not only did I buy them and read them, I read them and LOVED them. And I’m sure that’s because I happened to find all of these books more accessible for people who don’t necessarily love the genre.

So, what are these magical books that will make me enjoy Sci-Fi you say?

These ones:

IMG_6407

 

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

The first book in a Sci-Fi quartet of retellings, The Lunar Chronicles, this is Cinderella as you’ve never seen her before! A cyborg and talented mechanic in New Beijing, this quartet’s story unravels on a futuristic Earth, where a deadly plague is raging, and on the moon, where the people who migrated there hundreds of years ago have mutated into a slightly different species-the lunars.ย Although Sci-Fi, it is very readable and the story focuses more on the characters and the brilliant, moving and funny interactions between them, rather than info dumping lots of technical stuff.

I seriously recommend The Lunar Chronicles as it is highly unique, easy to read and addictive. All four books are out, so no waiting for the next installment necessary! Try this out if you’re a fan of fantasy and/or retellings!

 

Alienated by Melissa Landers

The first book in a trilogy, Alienated opens when Cara, a brilliant student, has been chosen to look after the first-ever L’eihr exchange student, Aelyx. Tensions rise as anti L’eihr paranoia grows at Cara’s school and things are no longer safe for either of them. Cara finds a friend and romance in the last person she’d ever expected, but what is the secret he’s hiding and can their relationship survive its deadly consequences?

Alienated reads like a YA contemporary with an alien in it. And the alien is very similar to humans! So basically, this is a fun contemporary with a twist! I haven’t read the rest of the books in this trilogy as I enjoyed this one, but it was very simplistic, so be aware of this if you’re picking this one up. Try this one if you’re a fan of YA contemporaries!

 

Shattered Minds by Laura Lam

This is an adult, standalone Sci-Fi that seriously hooked me in! The main character is a potential serial killer with a drug addiction that becomes the only one with the information needed to take down the mega powerful corporation in a futuristic San Francisco. You can check out my full review here. (It is quite violent/disturbing at times, so have a look at my review for the necessary trigger warnings.)

Gripping stuff, this will be out soon and it is one to read if you’re a fan of thrillers and/or dystopians!

 

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This is the first book in the Starbound trilogy- a trilogy of loosely connecting standalones. These Broken Stars tells the story of two star-crossed lovers who have to fight for survival after their luxury spaceliner crashes, leaving them the sole survivors on a deserted planet. From different worlds (figuratively and literally), they must work together if they want to find a way off the planet.

Again, this YA Sci-Fi reads more like a YA contemporary set in space. Lovely reading, with some romance, I recommend this one for YA contemporary fans! Plus the trilogy is completed now, which means you can binge read it all.

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Book one in the Illuminae Files trilogy, this is set in the year 2575, where two mega huge corporations are at war over a tiny, ice-covered planet. When all hell breaks loose, Ezra and Kady have to escape. Little do they know, escaping is only the start of their problems…

The best thing about this book is the formatting. It is comprised of journal entries, DMs, diagrams, interviews and more. It takes a little while to get used to, but when you do, it is well worth it and a unique reading experience.

Although technically a YA Sci-Fi, it is more of a crossover novel as it more mature and gory at times. This is one for readers who want an adventure! Check it out if you’re a fan of fantasies!

 

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you thought of this blog post. If you liked it, I’m currently working on ideas for a part two! Have any of you guys read any of these books? What did you think of them?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I found ‘Defy the Stars’ by Claudia Gray accessible. I thought I didn’t like sci-fi set in space, but liked the premise and grew to care about the characters. I haven’t read anything you mentioned, although I have read ‘Heartless’ by Merissa Meyer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m reading Defy the Stars this month! ๐Ÿ˜Š And Heartless is one of my faves! You definitely should check out The Lunar Chronicles ๐Ÿ’•

      Like

  2. lyndleloo says:

    I’m not usually a sci fi fan either but I’m desperate to read Illuminae and The Lunar Chronicles ๐Ÿ˜„ thanks for the other recs, they sound really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! And those two are two of my favourite Sci-Fis! They’re just brilliant and fun for everyone! ๐Ÿ˜

      Liked by 1 person

  3. WeeReader says:

    Oooh this post reminds me that I need to read more sci-fi! I wasn’t a huge fan of Cinder, but had already bought the others so I need to continue with it. I love sci-fi films, so I don’t know why I haven’t read more?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always find it harder to pick up Sci-Fi too! ๐Ÿ™Š Aw that’s a shame about Cinder, did you read all 4? I think they get better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

