Noah Can’t Even (Spoiler Free!) Review

“What the merry hell are you doing now, Noah Grimes?”

-Simon James Green, Noah Can’t Even

Hey guys! I was recently sent a copy of the YA contemporary Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green (thanks to the lovely people at Scholastic!!) and, not knowing what to expect, I dived straight in! (Enticed in no small part by the textured banana on the front cover, because that’s just COOL and makes me feel like I get to be a toddler again with touchy-feely books.)

17819374_145854795946714_7322137276459253760_n

And what did I find? Uttery hilarity. Noah Can’t Even is stuffed with the kind of awkward teenage coming of age/coming out in a British high school that makes you cringe and giggle. Repetitively.

Noah Grimes is the main character and he is painfully adorkable. There is a lot of faffing around, including one incident with making a cup of tea for someone that has just stuck in my mind and keeps rearing up to make me cringe whenever I make tea…. But he is determined to do whatever he can to survive school. Surely starting a romantic relationship with the lovely Sophie will do the trick? Plans ensue. But then, his best/only friend, Harry kisses him at a party and that’s when things start to get chaotic.

Noah Can’t Even is easy to get into-you’re embroiled in Noah’s life from the very first line, and want to just keep reading to find out how it all ends. The character of Noah feels very realistic and entertaining to read about, and all the characters play nicely off each other. Including his mother, with her tribute Beyonce act!

I also really liked the juxtaposition of how the two boys dealt with their coming out. You’ve got Harry, who after he kisses Noah, is open about being gay and honest about what that means for him. Then you’ve got Noah, who is just confused about everything and hasn’t even seemed to consider the possibility that he’s attracted to someone who’s not a girl until Harry kisses him. This theme continues throughout the book as Noah explores who he really is, and I think it was a great way to show how not everyone experiences things or comes to realisations the same way! In fact, for such an entertaining read, it dealt with a variety of relationships: You’ve got the evolving relationship between Noah and his mother, the one between Noah and his gran with dementia, and a few others that offer surprises along the way. I expected this book to be funny, I didn’t expect it to move me as much as it did, but it’s lovely and heartwarming at times.

Overall, Noah Can’t Even was a charming, funny read and I’m giving it 4/5 stars and a recommendation to pick it up if you’re a fan of YA contemporaries, or want something new to read to make you laugh and warm your heart!

Has anyone else read this or got it on your tbrs?

“He brazened it out, because he didn’t want to draw any more attention to the fact he was a TOTAL GORMLESS MUPPET.”

-Simon James Green, Noah Can’t Even

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve heard a few things about this book recently and it sounds beyond adorable so I’m really looking forward to reading it as soon as I get the chance! Great review 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! It is so cute and awkward and funny! I hope you enjoy as much as I did 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

