My April Wrap Up

Hey guys! I hope you all had a great April. I still can’t believe we’re in May already! What happened?! I feel like I blinked and a few months skipped by… Anyway, I had a productive April! I finished the third and final edit on my book, with which I then started the terrifying process of querying, I met Laini Taylor and I read 18 books!

Here are the books I read:

IMG_6396.JPG

I’m going to deal with these bullet point style so I don’t ramble on forever in a never ending blog post!

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas.

I reread this one to freshen it up in my mind for the highly anticipated release of ACOWAR! And it was a good job I did, as I’d forgotten a bunch of little, important details! Plus it made me more excited to read the final book in the trilogy, so that was nice.

Shattered Minds by Laura Lam.

Woah this one was great! I’m not usually a fan of Sci-Fi, but I was intrigued by the premise of this one (would be serial killer and drug addict with a conscience is the only one who can take down the world’s leading corporation) so I asked for the ARC from Tor Books. Check out my review here.

The Companion by Sarah Dunnakey.

Part historical fiction in the 1930s, part contemporary mystery, The Companion comes out this July and I’ll be reviewing it soon! An interesting story of buried secrets set on the Yorkshire Moors, this was a unique read with a good mystery wrapped up in it.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston.

Well this one was just adorable! A YA contemporary standalone, Geekerella is a retelling of Cinderella for fangirls everywhere! You can read my review here.

Be True to Me by Adele Griffin.

This YA is the story of one hot, idyllic summer in the 1970s, told between the juxtaposing POVs of two girls that are in love with the same guy. A love that soon turns obsessive and darker. I really recommend this one to read on the beach! Full review here.

Before the Rains by Dinah Jefferies.

A historical fiction set in 1930s India, with a female photographer who falls in love with an Indian prince who is out of bounds for her… This is the story of dark secrets and forbidden romance, set in an evocative and lush setting that is described to perfection! Review to come soon!

The Book Jumper by Mechthild Glaser.

This was my book club’s book for April and it was a fun, fast read, although not as good as I expected it to be. 3.5/5 stars for me, as I feel it would have been better as a middle grade book, rather than YA. The concept was just brilliant but it fell a little flat for me.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor.

One of my MOST anticipated books of this year! I’d recommend Strange the Dreamer to everyone that loves fantasy as Laini is one of my favourite writers and her books are always crazily unique and gorgeously written! My review is here, and you can read about my flailing at meeting Laini here.

The Girl in Between by  Sarah Carroll.

This was a sad story about a homeless girl and mother living in an old, abandoned mill that they call the “castle”, filled with the ghosts of their past and the girl’s mother slowly spiralling out of control as the authorities come closer to discovering them.  Very moving! My review is to come soon.

The Lines we Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah.

This is the story of Michael and Mina. Set in Australia, Mina is a refugee from Afghanistan and Michael the son of anti-immigration parents who have formed a new political party that is gaining ground. Mina meets Michael and Michael begins to challenge what he thought he knew was true. I absolutely loved this one, and will be reviewing it soon! A great YA contemporary that can teach everyone a little more about compassion and understanding.

Widdershins by Helen Steadman.

A historical fiction, Widdershins tells the story of a witch hunter making his way across Scotland and down into Newcastle, where Jane Chandler is an apprentice healer in a small village nearby. Inspired by true events, this is a gripping and moving account of a period in history that I didn’t know much about before! Full review to come soon.

Beyond the Wall by Tanya Landman.

Cassia is a slave to the Roman Empire that have taken over her country some 300 years ago. After maiming her master, she sets out on an epic bid for Hadrian’s Wall in the north, and her only chance of freedom. Her only companion is Marcus-a perfect Roman that seems set on helping her. But can she trust him? This YA historical fiction was deeply engrossing and an interesting read. Review coming soon!

The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig.

I read both of these books this month and absolutely fell in love with this genre bending trilogy! Startlingly unique and gorgeously rendered, they tell the story of a time travelling ship that can travel to any location depicted on a map-whether it’s a real, historical place, or a mythological one. Definitely one to check out! You can read my review of The Girl from Everywhere here.

Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green.

This book was cringe-worthy and hilarious. A YA contemporary about Noah, his struggles in daily life and with coming out.  I’ll be reviewing this one soon, but in the meantime, this is cringingly awkward, will make you giggle and feel for poor Noah!

Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser.

Brilliantly unique, this YA fantasy is set in a world of rivers and seas and aboard boats. Unlike anything else I’ve read, I’ll be reviewing this soon to let you all know how much I enjoyed it!

History is All you Left Me by Adam Silvera.

Omg this one made me cry. Deeply moving, heartbreaking and lovely, this is the story of a boy grieving his first love, made even starker by the juxtapositions of the POVs in the past, when his boyfriend was still alive, and the present, where his OCD is worsening and his love’s new boyfriend might be the only one who can help him. You can check out my review here.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas.

I read this in one day, desperate to devour the entire thing before any spoilers could reach me! I felt like this book perfectly finished off the Feyre and Rhysand trilogy and I’m intrigued to see which stories Sarah J Maas will be delving into next, set in this world. I also wouldn’t be surprised if some of those stories morph into new trilogies of their own! We’ll see. Review to come soon!

And that’s it! Thank you all for reading! You deserve a medal if you’ve made it all the way to the end, that was longer than I’d intended haha.

What did you all read this month? Anything particularly stand out for you guys?

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. 18 books is amazing! Congrats! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Justine says:

    I picked up Strange the Dreamer last night and am already sucked into the world! I have a feeling I’ll end up loving it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I already want to reread it! It’s sooo amazing! I hope you loved it ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve just finished ACOWAR and loved it! It was worth the wait! Strange the Dreamer is on my TBR list, I’ve heard so many great things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was! Oooh I hope you’ll love Strange the Dreamer just as much as I did! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 18 books?? Craaaaazy! Well done! I also read «A Court of Thorns and Roses» last month in the anticipation of the third book in the series 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And ooh that’s exciting! I hope you enjoy them all! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Tabi Bee says:

    I love wrap ups! These books all look like great reads! 😉 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! And they were-I had a great month! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, 18 books is seriously impressive! I haven’t actually read any of these books but I’m looking forward to noah can’t even and history is all you left me, even though I’ve heard some mixed reviews for it recently 😫 ! Great wrap up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And oh no, I really liked that one! I hope you do too 😊

      Like

  7. WeeReader says:

    I love that you read more books in April than I have in 2017! The Girl from Everywhere, The Book Jumper and Song of the Current are all on my TBR. I’m excited to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hehe I have had a good start to the year! 🙊 And ooh I am so excited to see what you think of them! 😈

      Like

Leave a Reply

