I met Laini Taylor!

“I think you’re a fairy tale. I think you’re magical, and brave, and exquisite. And I hope you’ll let me be in your story.”

-Laini Taylor, Strange the Dreamer

 

… And she was fabulous.

After living in deep Spain for yeeeaaars (six years), I had first gotten involved in the book community while I was still living there, and, well, there weren’t exactly many author events going on where I was living! Skip forward to me moving back to the UK and suddenly a whole world had opened up! I could actually MEET authors! And listen to them inspire me with their words of wisdom! And get my books signed and stuff!

So that’s what I did.

I dragged my husband along with me to Birmingham and we met up with the lovely Vicky and went to Starbucks for lovely chats and iced drinks of deliciousness and general flailing (on my behalf mostly, let’s be honest here), about meeting LAINI TAYLOR.

Little background: I adore her writing. Daughter of Smoke and Bone has been in my top ten fave books since it was published and I knew nothing of the existence of bookstagram. Strange the Dreamer might just have to join it there, too. So, unlike other authors which I feel like a newer fan of (i.e. on the periphery of the fandom), I was there from the start with Laini’s books.

Then the hour drew nearer and we went to Waterstones, desperate to snag a seat for ourselves in the best position to race to get our books signed afterwards. There, I met the lovely Natalia, who I’d followed on bookstagram for some time, and Ruby, who had come with Vicky, and we chatted for the first time. Vicky, Natalia and Ruby were all so sweet and nice!

We found our seats, (right at the back, near the signing table. Score!), and settled down with our books stacked on our laps, ready to listen to Laini Taylor speak about Strange the Dreamer. I was in such a state of nervous excitement that I cried. Then she walked in and I pulled myself together…. And then I cried. THEN I got entirely distracted from my emoshness by her speaking. She is such an inspiration guys! I loved her ideas on the “myth hole” and about writing a book after a war had ended, dealing with the consequences that form the aftermath of a conflict. I also dropped all of my books for the signing on the floor. While the floor was in silence. Twice. Michael (my husband), confiscated them off me before they could be dropped a third time.

After the questions, it was the bit I had been waiting for/worried I’d cry at Laini at! The book signing! The five of us managed to get there first *feels smug*, which meant we had time to take photos with Laini and chat to her a little while she signed her books and I wondered how many gold temporary moth tattoos was polite to take. I managed to tell her that I’d recently finished my book and was about to query it, and she wished me good luck and we spoke about how exciting that was! In fact, I noticed she’d written something extra in my book, a little later:

17934222_445282249141746_3471572909456097280_n

 

See it?! Yep, that had me welling up all over again!

I also told her that I ADORED Daughter of Smoke and Bone and that it made me go to Prague, (which you all should visit, it is a delightful truffle of a city), and we spoke about how lovely and magical that city is. (Spoiler alert: It is VERY lovely and magical.) And that Michael and I were visiting Marrakech this summer, (also a location in DoSaB if you haven’t read it yet. But you should read it. Soon.) and she gave us some travel advice for Morocco, which was fun! I also gave her a little chocolate Lindt bunny and told her she inspired me. Not very eloquently, I might add, I sort of thrust it at her when I first approached her while trying to make normal, human-like sounds. But she was entirely lovely and a pleasure to chat to and I managed not to cry at her so I think I deserve a cookie there really.

And since you’ve all been so lovely yourselves, reading my blog and all, you can check out my awkwardness yourselves:

IMG_5871.JPG

 

Thanks for reading! Who else is a Laini Taylor fan? Has anyone else met her before?

 

“It was impossible, of course. But when did that ever stop any dreamer from dreaming.”

– Laini Taylor, Strange the Dreamer

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Justine says:

    Meeting authors is the BEST. I’ve been fortunate that I’ve always lived in big enough US and UK cities that got hit in author tours. It sounds like you had an amazing time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ooh lucky you, that’s so cool! And I did, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. judithcmoore says:

    Oh my cheese you lucky human I’m so jealous!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. well that saying is just AMAZING 😱 *steals it for future use*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. judithcmoore says:

        so long as I get credit in any oscar speeches (or similar) or in an autobiography I’ll allow it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. haha thank yooouu 😘😂

        Like

  3. Pingback: My April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

