March My Book Box Unboxing!

Hey guys! I was recently offered the March box by the lovely people at My Book Box to unbox and review. I hadn’t previously heard of this company before, but as I love subscription boxes, particularly book ones, I said yes please!

My Book Box is a US run, monthly book subscription box. It is unique in that you pick two genres that you’d like to receive, and each month you receive a brand new book from each genre in your box. The choices are: Women’s fiction, mystery, non-fiction, young adult, children 8-12, and children 3-7.

I chose mystery and young adult as my preferred genres to receive, and these are the books I found in my box!

17663038_1258041870976683_488423040950992896_n.jpg

  1. A signed, hardcover copy of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.
  2. A paperback copy of The Widow’s House by Carol Goodman.

I adore The Hate U Give, and had previously received an early copy of the UK paperback from Walker Books, but I was hoping to get my hands on a US edition at some point, so this was a welcome surprise! Plus, it’s been signed by Angie herself, which is always lovely to have! I’m also a huge fan of Carol Goodman, and own many of her books, but I hadn’t realised that this one had come out, so that was great to find in my box, too! I can’t wait to read it once my TBR has shrunk to a more manageable size! (Who are we kidding, that’s never going to happen!)

Both books also came with handwritten letters from the authors, (photocopied, obviously, but written specifically for those receiving the book in this box), and a bookmark each.

My Book Box also says that you get “a special gift” in each box, and in the March box, everyone received a box of gourmet chocolate buttercrunch toffee from Pavonia Confections, which was lovely and disappeared very fast!

I also received a My Book Box tote bag which says “If I can’t take my books, I’m not going!”, which I LOVE, and I believe a tote bag is included with each box?

Here’s my full unboxing photo:

IMG_5896.JPG

I think this is a great box, and unique in the fact that it focuses mainly on the books, with a little gift as an extra, to enjoy while reading. (Plus I loved that it was edible!) The tote was very handy, and I think the choosing of two genres or age groups is a great idea! I recommend this to people who aren’t interested in lots of goodies in a box, and would rather have a couple of different books instead. I also think this is an idea book box for parents, as they can choose a book for themselves as well as a book for their child, which comes in picture books, middle grade and YA age ranges. However, as this is a US based box, people who live in Europe (like myself), and further afield from the US will have to pay more in shipping, so this probably a better option for residents of North America!

Have any of you guys received a My Book Box? What did you think of it? Or are you subscribed to different book subscription boxes? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. That is so cool! πŸ’–πŸ’–Do you have a bookstagram?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And yes I do, I’m @cosyreads on bookstagram πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I’m going to go find you. I made a bookish account last week. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You found me! 😊 And that’s great! Welcome to bookstagram!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you! 😊 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks like such a lovely subscription (also, when I saw your picture for a moment I thought they mailed you croissants with the books!). I live in the UK so don’t know if I’d go for it, but I love the concept of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha that would be different! But nope, those were supplied by Tescos πŸ˜‚ yes, I’m the same! I adore the box but shipping is such a pain 😭😭

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Shiri says:

    I loved this. I wanted to ask if I myself can make an bookstagram account or not? It’s fun, indeed. And I’m a book geek too. Just lemme know, please XD.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course! A bookstagram account is just an Instagram account about books! And everyone on there is very friendly and welcoming 😊 I have an old blog post with how to start a bookstagram if you scroll down lots! πŸ˜… Good luck! πŸ’•

      Like

Leave a Reply

