The Girl from Everywhere (Spoiler Free!) Review

“It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer.”

-Heidi Heilig, The Girl from Everywhere 

Hey guys! I was recently very lucky to have received a copy of The Girl from Everywhere from the lovely people at Hot Key Books. (Also a copy of the sequel, The Ship Beyond Time, that I haven’t read yet and am dying to get to!) Time travel, ships and magic?! This is my kind of book!
17596010_1319587004802634_6294692652994527232_n

Sixteen year old Nix lives with her father, Captain Slate, aboard the ship Temptation. But Slate is a navigator-someone who can take them wherever and whenever they want…Provided he has the right map. Slate is fixated on returning to a certain point in 18th century Honolulu, but they can’t change the past without risking their present, and Nix is torn between helping her father achieve his heart’s desire and saving herself from meddling in events that could threaten her very existence. Nix has to learn who she is and what she wants before it’s too late.

I loved the concept of this book and thought it was very well executed. Nix and Slate, along with a group of time refugees that have forged one loyal crew, are a brilliant mix of characters. All strongly voiced with some great interactions between them, I found the characters one of the best parts of this book. I also adored the settings. It turns out that as long as Nix and her father have procured an accurate, dated map, they can travel to anywhere that the mapmaker has drawn-including mythical locations that the mapmaker has believed in. I didn’t see this coming and loved the mentions of the places that the crew had travelled to, along with some of the legendary artifacts and creatures they had brought back from those locales. A large chunk of this book unfolded in Victorian Hawaii, which was lushly described and very interesting to read about-I don’t think I’ve ever read anything set in Victorian Hawaii before, and I’m always intrigued by settings (place and time), that I don’t know as much about.

The plot was fast moving and quickly ensnared me, leaving me hooked and racing through the pages to find out what happens. That, along with the deliciously evocative writing style that Heidi Heilig has, had me enthralled. Adventure, love, magic and time travel-this is definitely a debut to devour. I’m giving The Girl from Everywhere 5/5 stars, and I recommend it to all fans of YA fantasy and readers looking for tales of adventure and ships.

I’ll be reading the second book in the trilogy soon, and I can’t wait to see what new and exciting destinations will be featured in The Ship Beyond Time! Plus I love books set at sea/on ships/by the coast, so I’m looking forward to getting my nautical fix soon!

Thanks for reading! Has anyone else read these? What did you think?

“Well, Nixie? Where are we going next?”

-Heidi Heilig, The Girl from Everywhere

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: My April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

