Strange the Dreamer (Spoiler Free!) Review

“I think you’re a fairy tale. I think you’re magical, and brave, and exquisite. And I hope you’ll let me be in your story.”

-Laini Taylor, Strange the Dreamer.

This book. This book is just amazing. I’ve been a fan of Laini Taylor’s for years now-Daughter of Smoke and Bone is one of my all time fave books, so naturally Strange the Dreamer has been an anticipated read of mine for ages! I was nervous to read it, having high expectations isn’t a good idea before you’ve started reading a book, but it’s often unavoidable, either through hype or the standard you’ve come to expect from a favourite author. And to my happy relief, Strange the Dreamer exceeded my expectations in every way possible.

17587385_1106056889506261_444630880091111424_n

Strange the Dreamer tells the story of Lazlo Strange, an orphan and now a junior librarian in a fantastical library, obsessed with a lost city from ancient myths and legends. The city of Weep; across half the world and cut off from the rest of civilisation for over two hundred years. Then something amazing happens. A band of warriors led by the Godslayer arrive in Lazlo’s city and he has the opportunity to see the mythic city for himself. A city of moths and ghosts and a blue-skinned goddess, Sarai, that appears in his dreams.

This is a book crammed with magic. With fantastical world-building, with strong characters to fall in love with and root for, with a plot that leaks mysteries and writing that is beyond beautiful. This is a tale of fairy tales, monsters and gods that is highly addictive and will entrap you in its lyrical writing style from the start.

Lazlo Strange is an adorable character; I loved how shy and sweet he was, and how intense his dreams were. Sarai, the blue-skinned godspawn, is the perfect counterpoint in her POV chapters, where we discover what life inside Weep is like for the feared, hidden godspawn, in a city where the gods were murdered. It was very interesting to read a fantasy that takes place years after the war has ended, when the city of Weep is struggling in the aftermath. I loved the differing perspectives of the war that the contrasting POVs of Lazlo and Sarai offered as well.

Strange the Dreamer is my favourite book I’ve read in 2017  (and I’ve managed to read 51 books so far), and I expect it will become a new firm favourite of mine. I already want to reread it to capture all the little nuances I may have missed, now that I know how it ends. I cannot wait for the second part in this duology, and can we talk about how utterly gorgeous the actual book is?! Blue stained pages, gold foil moths and that lovely artwork by Laini herself = perfection.

I could ramble on and on about all the things I loved, but I suggest you read it for yourself to discover what a delight it is! 5/5 stars from me and a HUGE thank you to Chapter 5 Books for sending me the beautiful ARC to read first.

Has anyone else read this? What did you think of it?

“It was impossible, of course. But when did that ever stop any dreamer from dreaming.”

-Laini Taylor, Strange the Dreamer.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. judithcmoore says:

    I adored this book!!! Also where is that candle from and what is it like I need 500 of them right now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s from Book and Nook (you can find them on Instagram and Etsy) and if you use my code, COSY10, you can get 10% off! 😊

      Like

  2. I’m reading this book right now, and I’m completely obsessed! I think I like it even better than DoSaB, Laini’s writing is just so gorgeous. Beautiful review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading my blog! And I was too, her writing is simply beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

