March Wrap-Up

“You’re like ten prismacolors all at once.”
-Jenn Bennett, Night Owls.

Hey guys! This month I didn’t manage to read as much as normal, I’ve been editing my own book very intensively as well as I hit a couple of reading slumps. (Gah! Hate slumping!) But I still managed to read 11 books, so I’m happy with that!

Here’s what I read this month:

IMG_5721

A Crown of Wishes was a gorgeous YA fantasy read and rounded off the A Star Touched Queen duology really nicely! I love Roshani Chokshi’s writing and can’t wait to see what she’ll be releasing next! My full review is here.

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal (definitely not YA fantasy as I mistook it for, it has some violent and explicit scenes) almost ended up in my DNF pile, except I hate to DNF books so I powered through. Unfortunately, this one was a 1/5 star read for me as I just struggled to read it and the story didn’t hold my interest enough. I have heard mixed reviews though, so check them out before you decide if it’s for you or not!

Replica by Lauren Oliver was my book club read for March and I just loved the concept! Each side of the book is a different POV, so you can flip between them or choose which one you want to read first. It’s a YA contemporary/Sci-Fi/dystopian hybrid, set in our world and dealing with the issue of cloning, which was very interesting to read about. This one was a fun read! 3.5/5 stars.

Night Owls by Jenn Bennett was another book I really enjoyed. I wasn’t sure what I expected going in to this one, but it was cute, sweet and very unique. Plus it’s a short YA contemporary, so I powered through it in a couple of sittings. It focuses on the relationship between Beatrix, hopeful anatomical drawer, and Jack, anonymous, notorious graffiti artist in San Francisco. Definitely recommend this one to YA fans! 4/5 stars.

The Tea Planter’s Wife by Dinah Jefferies is an adult historical fiction set in 1930s Sri Lanka (then Ceylon), and deals with Gwen’s relationship with her new husband and the secret she felt forced to hide from him in their marriage. This book was very atmospheric and mysterious and I was hooked! I buddy read this one with my friend Alex. (@paperbackpiano on Instagram).

See How They Lie by Sue Wallman is a gripping and unique YA thriller that I flew through, intrigued by the concept of a teenager growing up in an elite retreat and school, which operates like a cult. You can check out my full review here.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas was an anticipated read for me and I was very excited to have received an early copy! It is an important read about a teenager who is the sole witness to a cop shooting her unarmed friend. It is based on the Black Lives Matter movement and I recommend everyone gives it a read. Check out my review here and then read it for yourself!

Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman is a lovely YA contemporary that sees Ingrid, the main character, starting a three week wilderness programme as a deal she’d made with her mother to go to her dream school. Told through her struggles of hardcore trekking, letters written to her mother and flashbacks of their lives and relationship with each other, this is a cross between Gilmore Girls and Wild and just beautiful reading. It’s bittersweet and hopeful. 4/5 stars and I’m going to be on the blog tour for this one, so keep an eye out for my review and interview with the author!

Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner is another lovely YA contemporary that deals with heavier issues in a beautiful way, interspersed with sweet and funny moments. This one wouldn’t be out of place on a cute summer TBR! Full review here.

Show Stopper by Hayley Barker is an ARC that comes out 1st June. It’s a topical dystopian YA set against the backdrop of a brutal circus in a world where the descendants of immigrants are seen as the “dregs” of society and treated as such. Gripping, powerful stuff. You can read my review here.

The Pearl Thief by Elizabeth Wein is another ARC I received. This will come out on 4th May. It’s a gorgeously evocative YA historical fiction and mystery set in 1930s Scotland and reminiscent of Agatha Christie. Check out my review here.

(Note: I couldn’t remember all of the trigger warnings for these books, so please contact me if you’re unsure about any of them! I’d be happy to chat about them).

And that’s my wrap-up concluded! Have any of you guys read any of these books? What did you think? And let me know what you’ve all been reading in March, too!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Reading slump but you read 11 books????? I read 6 full size books and thought that an achievement haha – I read 2 of the Bone Season books and novellas as well as starting the Mortal Instruments and rereading Wrath and the Dawn so I could finally finish that duology.

    Like

  2. WeeReader says:

    I love that for you 11 books is a reading slump!! Hope you can manage to read more next month (probably back to your usual 148598784534). Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hahaha thank yoouu! And I hope so too 😈

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Emily says:

    I’m glad to see you enjoyed Night Owls, I read it last year and loved it as well 🙂 Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was so good right?! And thanks for reading my blog post! 😊💕

      Like

      1. Emily says:

        Yes, a very creative idea too! You’re welcome 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

