Books with the most Scrumptious Writing!

And by that, I do not mean about food… I’m talking about books that are written so beautifully that you want to savour each glorious line of prose. Taste the words, biting into the sentences like you’re sampling an exquisite chocolate truffle, letting the sentences melt on your tongue…

Not in order, here are my favourite, lyrically written books:

 

“‘There was a time’-Cheshire yawned-‘When you overflowed with whimsy and icing sugar.'”

-Marissa Meyer, Heartless.

  1. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

    Yes, the lemon tarts were a joy to read about, and we all salivated imagining them. BUT the writing throughout this book continued to delight and inspire me. Simply gorgeous.

img_6910

 

 

“He tasted like midnight and wind, and shades of rich brown and light blue. Colors that made her feel safe and guarded.”

-Stephanie Garber, Caraval.

     2.  Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Magic is infused into the pages of this one. Rich and whimsical, the imagery used in this novel was writing at its lyrical best.

16585050_672841386235382_5932465496480808960_n

 

 

 

“I can flip across a floor like liquid, juggle circles around you, or steal your breath with a twirl.I speak with the silver tongue of a trickster.”

-Natalia Jaster, Trick.

     3. Trick by Natalia Jaster

Beautifully written, the sentence composition in this one had me drawing the book out, reading it languidly, luxuriating in the text.

14547769_175146722953419_4479051093250146304_n

 

 

 

“A story had no ownership. A story could break its bones, grow wings, soar out of reach and dive out of sight in the time it took just to draw breath. It meant we weren’t walking a cut path. We carved it into existence with every step.”

-Roshani Chokshi, A Crown of Wishes.

     4. A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

I love how unique and luscious Roshani Chokshi’s writing voice is. Her imagery is so creative and distinctive, it’s a pleasure to read.

17332395_1456032001126292_5247913736030650368_n

 

 

 

“There is music in your soul. A wild and untamed sort of music that speaks to me. It defies all the rules and laws you humans set upon it. It grows from inside you, and I have a wish to set that music free.”

-S.Jae-Jones, Wintersong.

      5. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones.

Reading Wintersong feels like stepping into a fairy-tale. It’s dark and hauntingly beautiful. The writing is gorgeous and the Bavarian backdrop feels like it’s stepped out of a Grimm’s book.

16584017_577848829074775_8661394635827970048_n

 

And they are my top five, gorgeously evocative reads! I’m sure I’ll have to do another blog post on this in a few months, as I just adore books with beautiful writing styles and tend to seek them out. Has anyone else got any recommendations? Let me know!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the quotes you selected

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely loved Heartless, and it was so BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN (it literally made it hard to breathe it was so good). I bought Caraval a couple of weeks ago but haven’t read it yet, and now I am even more excited to!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right?! 😍 And oooh I hope you love it as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post, the pictures are lovely and so are the quotes! I know just what you mean about scrumptious writing, it’s such a joy to find a perfect turn of phrase in a book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aw thanks for reading! And it is such a pleasure when you can savour the words! 😁

      Like

  4. WeeReader says:

    Ooh I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for this when I read Wintersong and A Crown of Wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hehe let me know what you think! (You know how I feel about food in books too hehe 😈)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

