The Hate U Give (Spoiler free!) Review

“What’s the point of having a voice if you’re gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn’t be?”

-Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give.

Fearless. Gut-wrenching. Brave. Those are just a few of the words that come to mind when thinking of The Hate U Give. I rarely cry at books but I cried at this one. Hard. And I think that was because this is a book born out of truth, its story a story that needs to be told, retold, then passed around some more so that more people can understand the impact of prejudice and systemic racism.

17127190_1489296534423391_8401790182344359936_n.jpg

Written by Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give follows main character Starr-a 16 year old girl caught between two worlds. Raised in a poor neighbourhood but attending a posh private school, she is constantly juggling those two worlds. Then her best friend Khalil is shot by a police office. Unarmed. With Starr the only witness. And Starr suddenly realises how powerful her voice is: Everything hinges on what she says next. Including her life.

This is a powerful book, one that everyone should read. Starr’s voice narrates the entire novel and stays with you long after you’ve turned that final page. Buy a copy, read a copy and make everyone you know read it; it’s that good and that necessary. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas has written a blazingly brilliant debut. 5/5 stars.

A big thanks to Walker books for sending me an early copy to review! THUG is already out in the US, but comes out in the UK on April 6th.

Who else has read it/planning to read it? Let me know your thoughts!

“Sometimes you can do everything right and things will still go wrong. The key is to never stop doing right.”

-Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. This sounds like a wonderful read. I need to pick it up. The book seems worth the hype.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely is! It’s nice to see such an important book getting the attention it deserves 😊

      Like

  2. matxi_books says:

    I need this in my hands ASAP!! I find the theme of this book to be really important and one who should be heard!!

    On another news, I tagged you for Mystery Blogger Award! I cannot wait to hear what you’ve got to say! 😉
    https://matxibooks.wordpress.com/2017/03/14/mystery-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree!! It was such an important, powerful read! And aw thank you so much! I’ll go and check it out! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This would be one of my purchase for next month, I actually can’t wait to grab my copy and read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! ☺

      Like

  4. Pingback: March Wrap-Up
  5. Where can I buy a copy? I am just in the process of publishing my book and would love to read this. I have written a book on the true story of our families life in Liverpool after coming over from Europe to the UK in 1980. We as a family suffered the worse violent racism you can imagine. In short we were at war and had no help from the Police or authorities. I moved away from Liverpool as soon as I could afford to- shortly after I moved my parents were attacked in their home my masked men- CS gas sprayed in my fathers face (he was 75) and my mother punched to the bottom of the stairs (at 75 years of age) and soon after got cancer (maybe the stress of the attack- who knows). Anyway, from what I recently witnessed- nothing has changed since the 80s- if you want to see more I have put some videos and info up on my page. Please be warned as some of the videos are graphic! If you are planning to visit Liverpool and are of foreign (noticeable) descent- my advice is stay well away! By the way myself, three brothers and sister were all born in London- we went to Europe for a few years and returned (slightly darker) to live in Liverpool with our European parent’s- the violence started almost immediately with a brick thrown at my sister (she was two at the time) followed by the family car being destroyed by petrol outside our home and then all out war.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so sorry you and your family suffered through such terrible injustices. You can buy a copy of The Hate U Give in UK bookshops or online

      Like

      1. Thank you. I just ordered a copy on Amazon. Thank you for the quick reply.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No problem! I hope you enjoy!

        Like

Leave a Reply

