Wing Jones (Spoiler Free!) Review

“Neither of us belonged with anyone else, so we belonged together.”

-Katherine Webber, Wing Jones.

Happy March everyone! Spring is coming (at least on my side of the world) and it’s making me feel all happy and refreshed and filled with new, exciting plans! I hope you all have a gorgeous spring or a very cosy autumn!

One of the things making me uber happy atm is that I seem to have been reading lots of books I loooove recently. One of the most recent that I fell in love with was Wing Jones. Written by Katherine Webber, (who is such a sweetheart, go and follow her on Twitter now!) and sent to me by the lovely people at Walker Books, it captured my heart from the beginning.

16906124_1161222777338198_7058450383546351616_n

Wing Jones is the main character in this contemporary YA, and with one grandmother from China and another from Ghana, she sometimes feels a little caught between worlds. We are fully immersed in her family from the start of the book, anchoring our understanding of Wing’s home and the love that overflows from it. But then something tragic happens and Wing’s life starts to unravel…. Until she happens to discover that she is freaking amazing at running. Her talent is so good in fact, that it starts to get her noticed… And it could help her family in the way that they need it most…. At the cost of taking away what Wing secretly wants herself.

Wing is a brilliant character. She had me rooting for her from the start, waiting anxiously for her to find her wings, for her to soar. But along the way, the book dealt with serious issues of racism, bullying, grief and learning to love yourself. It was sad and hopeful, bittersweet and uplifting all at once. And the bickering between the grandmothers was the perfect comical note to contrast moments of tragedy. All in all, I adored this book and was sucked in from the start-I picked it up one morning, intending to read just a few chapters but was quickly hooked and ended up reading it in one sitting! 5/5 stars and I really recommend this one.

Has anyone else read it? What did you think?

[Note: This book is releasing a little later in the US, under the title The Heartbeats of Wing Jones. Keep an eye out! This is an author you’ll want to support.]

“It feels like I belong. The feeling is like a hard butterscotch candy in my mouth, smooth and sweet, and I want it to last for ever.”

-Katherine Webber, Wing Jones.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I received a signed copy from a friend just yesterday and I can’t wait to read as soon as I finish with my e-arc. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh that’s so exciting!! And thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Oh I’ve only vaguely heard of this one but I didn’t realise what it was about and IT SOUNDS SO GOOD!! I absolutely adore running…aaand, I love books that feature diversity and minorities. *pushes this up higher on the TBR* I loved the review! And that’s sooo awesome you’re having so many good reads lately.🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was SO GOOD!! *flails with enthusiasm* Thank you so much for reading Cait! 😘💕🌷

      Like

Leave a Reply

