February Wrap-Up

“Even though February was the shortest month of the year, sometimes it seemed like the longest.”

-J.D. Robb.

Hey guys! I am SO looking forward to March. Mainly because February was such a sucky month for me-both my husband and I caught a nasty strain of flu and were ill from the start of the month and still recovering from it now. So it’s left me yearning for spring, wanting to be productive again and getting my full energy back again (finally). But before all of that, here’s my monthly wrap up!

IMG_4639.JPG

I read 16 books this month, from a variety of genres, and I’m going to divide them into three sections: What I read when I was ill, Anticipated books and, the VERY creatively named section, Others.

Anticipated Books

Yes I know that some of these have been out a while but I’m a slave to my tbr and got to them as soon as I could/as soon as other books stopped distracting me. You know how it is!

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I have been silently envious (and still am!) of everyone who was lucky enough to snag a Caraval ARC as the book seemed perfectly up my street. It is. ALLLLL the stars to Caraval! Magical and lyrically written, I was relieved that it lived up to the hype for me. (Hype makes me wary)
  • Wintersong by S.Jae-Jones. Another one I had been lusting after. Dark Bavarian fairytale? Yes please! You can see what I thought here.
  • The Rose and the Dagger by Renee AhdiehWell this one I had been intentionally putting off! Since I loved The Wrath and the Dawn so much, I was worried that the final part in the duology wouldn’t match up to my expectations. Fortunately, while still preferring the first book, I really enjoyed this one and felt it concluded the duology really nicely. 4/5 stars.
  • The Muse by Jessie BurtonMy dad bought me the lovely hardback of this in the summer and I hadn’t managed to get around to it for a while, despite having enjoyed The Miniaturist, so I was thrilled when it got chosen by my book club for February. I thought this was even better than The Miniaturist (the author’s first book, not a series), and really recommend it for all historical fiction fans! 5/5 stars.
  • Gemina by Kaufman and KristoffI loved Illuminae! I’m not usually a big fan of Sci-Fi, but YA Sci-Fi often makes it more enjoyable for me with sweet romantic story arcs and exciting plots. The thing that I love most about this trilogy is the structure of it. It’s narrated through messages, diagrams, emails, DMs and journal entries and is just brilliant. I preferred Illuminae to Gemina on the whole, but this is still a solid 4/5 stars for me.

 

What I read when I was ill

 

Yep I’ve been ill all month, but some weeks were infinitely worse than others and I couldn’t manage to read at ALL for about 10 days. When I did feel like reading again, I wanted lighter, fluffier books that wouldn’t take much brain space. Books to comfort me that I could switch off and relax with.

  • Books one and two in The Babysitter’s Club. (Pictured is an omnibus with 3 books in it, I read 2 of them this month.) I had fun reliving my 90’s childhood with this one! Perfect fast and easy nostalgic reading….Is there anything better when you don’t feel 100%?
  • Devil’s Food Cake Murder by Joanne Fluke. I’m sloooowly making my way through this series of cosy mysteries, and each one makes me crave cookies and desserts like you wouldn’t believe! Not for everyone, so make sure you read reviews before you get into them! 3.5/5 stars for me.
  • Class by Jenny Colgan. Published yeeeaaars before her foodie contemporaries that made me loyal to this author (that and puffins!!), I was intrigued to give this a go. Fun but I didn’t enjoy it as much as her most recent ones. 3/5 stars.
  • Christmas Ever After by Sarah Morgan. Sarah Morgan is my go-to romance author. Her books are just the right blend of sweet, romantic, fun and steamy. I love them! 4/5 stars for this one.

 

Others

Because I just couldn’t think of a better header…

  • The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury. I buddy read this with Christine (weereader) and thought it was a very interesting, unique YA fantasy! Very folklorish and quirkier than I expected. 4/5 stars.
  • Wing Jones by Katherine Webber. A gorgeous YA contemporary that beautifully deals with some big issues. 5/5 stars and review to come soon!
  • The Cruelty by Scott Bergstrom. I’ve seen this book/author come under fire online recently, but having a fascination for spies and travel, I’ve read a lot of books that were all very male-centric (and very problematic) and I personally enjoyed seeing a female protagonist in an area that’s lacking. 4/5 stars.
  • I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson. OMG this one was a beauty! 5/5 stars and you can check out the rest of my thoughts here.
  • Swimming Lessons. A very interesting, literary fiction read. 3.5/5 stars and my review is here if you want to read it!
  • The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware. I got a little over excited when I saw this one in Tescos for £3.85 as I LOVED her mystery/thriller In a Dark Dark Wood (review of that one here.) This one was exactly what I expected from another book: eerie, great, atmospheric setting and gripping enough to want to read in a single setting. 5/5 stars and I recommend it to people wanting to read a thriller but not sure where to start. Especially if you live in the UK because it’s a bargain right now!

 

Woah that took me a LONG time to write! Thank you very much for reading if you’ve managed to get this far! What books did you guys read this month? Any new favourites? Caraval and Wintersong are definitely two new favourites of mine from this month!

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. purelavender says:

    I really want to read The Cruelty, seen so much hype online recently! Also looking forward to reading your review on Wing Jones!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was really good! A great spy thriller 👌 and thanks, my review will (hopefully) be up in the next few days!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. purelavender says:

        Definitely need to get my hands on it! And I’ll keep an eye out!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Let me know what you think of it! ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sakina says:

    The Babysitter’s Club was my life when I was little!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! I actually got most of them out of the library so I don’t own too many of them!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Babysitters Club?? I haven’t thought about those books in years! I might need to go relive my 90’s childhood too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really recommend it! So much fun! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  4. heygemmaaa says:

    Glad to hear you loved The Muse! I’m still trying to get anyone I know who reads to read it. Haha!

    Gemma
    http://thetravellingbibliophile.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha keep trying, it was soooo good! Thanks for reading Gemma!❤️

      Like

  5. Woah you read so much this month, well done! 🙂 I’m so excited to read Gemina, I loved Illuminae (especially Ezra and Kady) so I need to get to it soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I hope you enjoy Gemina as much as I did! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

