I’ll Give you the Sun (spoiler free) Review

“We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.”

-Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give you the Sun.

Hey guys! I am FINALLY over the flu and feeling a tonne better! But when I was at my worst, it was lovely having such a delightful book as I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson to get hooked into. I was lucky enough to be given a copy by the lovely people at Walker Books but I recommend that anyone who loves YA contemporaries gift themselves a copy ASAP.

16789515_735082626655462_4367036752737599488_n

So, I’ll Give you the Sun is about twins Jude and Noah, who used to be inseparable, until something awful happens in their lives, driving a wedge between them that has lasted for years. Narrated from 13-year-old Noah’s POV, and 16-year-old Jude’s, each twin tells half the story. A story that can only make sense if they can reconnect to each other once more.

I don’t want to tell you too much more, for fear of spoiling this beautiful story for you, but it is just gorgeous. The characters were cleverly written and spring from the page, the artistic fonts and spatters across the pages echo the heartfelt words, and the writing is just superb. Jandy Nelson has a distinctive writing style that I fell in love with from the first page-it is lyrical and descriptive, but with a contemporary slant that keeps it modern and fresh. It is bittersweet and heartwarming and delightful all at once.

I’m giving it 5/5 shiny stars and my orders to go and read it if you haven’t already!

Who else has read it? What did you think?

“It’s time for second chances. It’s time to remake the world.”

-Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give you the Sun.

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. kirstychronicles says:

    I started reading this a while ago and got a few chapters in but then put it down. I don’t know what it was but I just wasn’t getting along with it. I might have just not been in the right mood for it. Anyway, I really want to pick it up again at some point because I hear so many great things about it! Really great review!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Aw that’s a shame! Sometimes
      it happens though. It’ll be interesting to see if you like it any better another time! Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

      Like

  2. I loved this book! So glad you did too😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was SO good! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. hufflestark says:

    I got gifted this book for Christmas in 2016 and I ended up reading it at the beginning of this year, I really liked the whole concept of the book and I definitely loved the romance and Jude’s narrative, whereas for some reason Noah just irritated me at time – it was probably because he was younger when I read from his perspective, I still liked him though 🙂 Loved your review ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! It was such an original and gorgeous read! Thanks for reading lovely! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I read this novel a while back and I actually didn’t finish it. I just didn’t get hooked onto the writing even though I wanted to like it so badly. I’m glad you enjoyed the novel though!

    Like

  5. Pingback: February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

