Wintersong (Spoiler Free) Review

“Love is the bridge that spans the world above and below, and keeps the wheel of life turning.”
-S. Jae-Jones, Wintersong.

I can’t believe that it’s only February and I’ve managed to read so many books that I absolutely adored this year already! Wintersong was one of those books. I. Loved. This. Book. A big thanks to Titan Books for sending me an early copy, this is exactly the kind of book that I fall in love with! And I fell hard.

IMG_4587 (1).JPG

Set in the land of fairytales and forests itself (18/19th century Bavaria), Wintersong follows the plain but musically gifted Liesl as her sister is taken by the Goblin King, leaving Liesl to journey to the dark, compelling world of the Underground to find her.

A mature YA fairytale retelling of Christina Rossetti’s poem Goblin Market, Wintersong is romantic, mysterious and deeply atmospheric. It really feels like a fairytale-one of the darker, original ones that hold danger beneath the magic. I loved the folklore-ish Bavarian setting, the musical influences and felt like certain aspects of the plot were more unique than I was expecting. I’d also never read a book about goblins before so that was interesting! The writing is seductively gorgeous and drew me in from the start. I’m always a sucker for a lyrically written book with lush descriptions and I fell in love with S. Jae-Jone’s writing style from the first page.

5/5 stars for me and I recommend it to fans of fairytale retellings and anyone who loved the writing style in books like Heartless or Caraval, where words are spun prettily and atmospheres magically conjured.

Have any of you guys read this book? What did you think of it?

“Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride.”

-S. Jae-Jones, Wintersong.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this, I really want to read it for myself though. (plus the cover is gorgeous) Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading! To be honest I always prefer reading books for myself, I like making up my own mind about them ☺️ and the cover really is gorgeous 😍

      Like

  2. heygemmaaa says:

    Bavarian setting, you say? I might just beg for an advance copy of this 😀

    Gemma
    http://thetravellingbibliophile.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s already out now! I hope you like it as much as I did! ☺️

      Like

  3. Pingback: February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

