Freeks Spoiler Free Book Review

“That’s when I realised the chill wasn’t coming from outside-it was coming from within me.”

-Amanda Hocking, Freeks.

Hey guys! I’ve been bedridden/sofa ridden with such a bad case of the flu that I’m really behind on reviews. I read Freeks by Amanda Hocking back in January, when I was lucky enough to receive a copy from Macmillan and thoroughly enjoyed it.

16124077_480860238968219_5939401812829274112_n.jpg

Being a fan of The Night Circus and impatiently awaiting Caraval‘s release, I was excited to dive straight into this standalone tale of magical realism about a travelling carnival that arrives in small town Louisiana in the 80’s. This is no ordinary carnival…. For Mara, it is her home. A home of secrets and magical goings on. Then graffiti spelling the word “freeks” starts turning up. And people start going missing. Things quickly spiral out of control, and Mara, who is crushing on Gabe-a local boy that’s concealing his own set of secrets-is determined to figure out the truth at the heart of the mystery.

I haven’t read any other of Amanda Hocking’s books before, but now I want to! I found the story interesting and easy to get into and liked the myriad of characters in the carnival and their relationships to one another. The mystery was a little spooky and the entire setting was very atmospheric. I liked the paranormal twist to the story and it was unusual reading a YA set in the 80’s, so that was fun. I’m giving this 4/5 stars and I’d definitely recommend it if you’re a fan of Maggie Stiefvater!

Has anyone else read any of Amanda Hocking’s books? What did you think?

 

“…The sounds of the carnival played like a familiar song behind me.”

-Amanda Hocking, Freeks.

 

8 Comments Add yours

    1. It was so cool! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jimmy says:

        Articles like these put the consumer in the driver seat-very imrtptano.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for reading!

        Like

  1. I read some negative reviews about Freeks. I think I must give the book a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh what did you read? I’m interested now!

      Like

  2. This sounds interesting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

