My January Wrap Up

Yes, I read a LOT of books this month. 22 to be exact. And nope, it wasn’t the only thing I did in January haha. I realised that I was wasting a lot of my time and decided to reorganise my life a little bit. Instead of watching too much Netflix in the evenings or the weekends, I went to bed early and read. Instead of checking out Youtube on my lunch breaks, I read. And instead of dozing in the mornings, I read. All of that worked out to at least a few hours extra reading time every day, and as I’m a fast reader anyway, this happened!

img_4151

 

Books I LOVED 

  • Talking as Fast as I Can. Mainly because it was written by Lauren Graham and as I am such a HUGE Gilmore Girls fan, her sections on the show, both original and revival were my favourite parts.
  • A Darker Shade of Magic. WHY has it taken me so long to read this?! LOVE LOVE LOVE it!
  • The Problem with Forever. Jennifer L Armentrout is one of my favourite authors and how she manages to write so well across genres always impresses me. This is a (at times heartbreaking) contemporary which I really recommend, although it needs a trigger warning as it covers abuse.
  • The One Memory of Flora Banks. I wasn’t sure what to expect with this new YA contemporary with suspense but it blew me away! Brilliantly unique and twisty, I really recommend this one.
  • Nevernight. Woah this was insane. An instant new favourite, it took me about 100 pages to get into it and then…woah. It was so so good guys. SO GOOD!!
  • The Star Touched Queen. A lovely gift from one of my besties, I was so excited to finally read this and the lyrical storytelling was every bit as much of a delight as I hoped it would be!
  • My Life Next Door. I didn’t expect much from this YA contemporary, I thought it would be cute and light and that was what I was in the mood for. However, it packed some serious twists in it and I was hooked the entire way.
  • Homegoing. More than just a brilliantly written book, an important book. I can’t recommend it enough, you can check out my review here.
  • The Wrath and the Dawn. I buddy read this with Christine for the 4th time and I loved it as much as I first did! One of my faves.
  • Breakwater. The second book in The Mer Chronicles, it was a great continuation of the story. Read this for a fresh interpretation of sirens! You can check out my review here. 
  • Frenchman’s Creek. I buddy read this with Hira and loved it! I’ve read other books by Daphne Du Maurier before so knew I liked her writing style, but the story was brilliant. I recommend this author for fans of Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters!
  • Freeks. Omg I did not expect to love this book as much as I did! Set in small town Louisiana, in the 1980’s, this is a YA magical realism standalone about a travelling carnival. And it is well worth a read!

 

Disappointments 

  • Frostblood was a bit of a disappointment for me! You can check out my review here. I found it too derivative and lacking in originality for me to get invested in the series.
  • To my surprise, I was very disappointed in The Bone Season! I was convinced I was going to love this book, but, sadly, I really didn’t! I don’t think I’ll be continuing with this series.

 

The Rest 

  • Alienated was a fast, light read for me! It was more of a contemporary with an alien in it than a true Sci-Fi in my opinion but it was just fun reading. Nothing too spectacular but enjoyable.
  • Windwitch. I’d give it 4/5 stars as I think I preferred Truthwitch, but I love this series and can’t wait for Bloodwitch already!
  • The Adventurous Four. I loved Enid Blyton as a child and now and then it’s fun to reread an old favourite!
  • Summer with Love. Sarah Morgan is one of my favourite romance novelists and her books always deliver. Cute, fun and saucy, they’re perfect light reading.
  • Apple Turnover Murder. The series Murder She Baked by Joanne Fluke is a guilty pleasure for me and I’m slowly reading my way through them! A cosy mystery with yummy recipes.
  • The Lonely Hearts Travel Club: Thailand and India. These two contemporaries were described as if “Bridget Jones went Backpacking” and that tells you all you need to know really! So much fun!
  • Wishbones. This new YA contemporary was really good. It’s more one for younger YA readers-the MC is 14-15, which I found more difficult to read, but it was sweet and full of heart. Trigger warning for eating disorders with this book.
17 Comments Add yours

  1. matxi_books says:

    22 books!!!! That’s crazy!!! haha I love to read but I still can’t not binge-watch whows and movies at night… I just like to lay down there like a zombie!haha
    I’ve heard such good things about the bone season trilogy that I am sorry you were disappointed by it. I really want to read Homegoing and The one memory of Flora Banks, they sound promising!! Oh and I really enjoyed Lauren Graham’s book, although I wanted more, she is so refreshing and fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I know the feeling! Crashing out is the best! And yes, same here, but I seem to be in the minority haha. Homegoing and the One Memory of Flora Banks were sooo good, I hope you like them too! And I agree, there can never be too much of Lauren Graham ☺️🙌

      Liked by 1 person

      1. matxi_books says:

        Letting you know that I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award!! 😊😋😊
        You can see it here! https://matxibooks.wordpress.com/2017/02/03/blogger-recognition-award/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. aww wow! Thank you SO much my lovely, that’s so nice! 😘💕

        Liked by 1 person

      3. matxi_books says:

        It’s well deserved!! 😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Tyler Wright says:

    I keep seeing people complain about not having time to read because of this, or that.

    When you said, ” Instead of watching too much Netflix in the evenings or the weekends, I went to bed early and read. Instead of checking out Youtube on my lunch breaks, I read. And instead of dozing in the mornings, I read. All of that worked out to at least a few hours extra reading time every day,” I was so glad that i found somebody who made time instead of complaining about not having any.

    If you are looking for biographies, classics, or any nonfiction to read, please stop by my page.

    thewrightread.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I’m so glad you took the time to read this 😘 And I agree, although I am lucky to have a certain amount of free time, I do make a big effort to spend more time reading! 🙊 I’ll definitely check our page out!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, so many books!!😱 I totally feel the same way about The bone season. I was really dissapointed too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah that weirdly makes me so happy I’m not the only one! 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wooooah, congratulations.
    I so agreed with your mini-review of Flora Banks and Frostblood — exactly the same thoughts xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And it’s great to know I’m not the only one who wasn’t a fan of Frostblood!

      Like

  5. You read so many books!!! How did you read so much in a month?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. By cutting down on other things! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I can’t do that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aw that’s a shame!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

