14 Year Old Mia’s Favourite Books

“…It didn’t seem to Lyra that she would ever grow up.”

-Philip Pullman, Northern Lights.

 

Hey guys! So today I thought it would be fun to do something different… I’m going to share with  you some of my favourite books from when I was younger. I’m in my late twenties now and I say “14 year old me” lightly-some of these books will have been my favourite when I was younger, too.

unnamed (1).jpg

I tried to narrow them down to 10, I really did! I’ll be brief though. Stay with me!

Classics:

I’ve always loved classics and this goes back to me reading children’s classics at a young age. The two that especially stood out to me were A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett and The Phoenix and the Carpet by E. Nesbit. Both of these have withstood multiple rereadings and I still love them to bits.

Modern Classics: 

Harry Potter!!!! Goes without saying. I first read Harry Potter when I was 9 and I’ve grown up with it, waiting for each book to come out was agony! The last one came out when I was in my first year at university and I went to the midnight launch in Aberystwyth with my now husband, so this will always be close to my heart.

I also loved The Hobbit. I’ve read The Lord of the Rings since, but The Hobbit has always remained my favourite.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. Another one I’ve read a million times. I love this historical fiction and recommend this to everyone.

Philip Pullman: 

He deserves his own category as I love so many of his books!

Northern Lights was and always will be one of my favourite books of all time. It instilled a life long love of travelling North and compelled me to see the northern lights for myself as soon as I could.

The Ruby in the Smoke is a great Victorian trilogy with a great heroine and lashings of intrigue. There is a fourth book that was set a few years later and links in, but it’s not a true quartet.

90’s Kid:

Anyone else a child of the 90’s?! Here we have books that I ADORED at the time but aren’t still my favourites. I’m talking The Babysitter’s Club, The Princess Diaries, Animorphs, a handful of Terry Pratchett’s YA books that were out at the time like Wings, and Michael Morpurgo’s Kensuke’s Kingdom. I’m realising now that I left out my collection of Sabrina the Teenage Witch paperbacks! It may have come out a little later, maybe early 00’s, but I also was addicted to the Fearless series by Francine Pascal, about a kickass girl that was missing the fear gene, was a master of martial arts, chess, languages and just plan awesome with a mysterious, absent family and a tonne of secrets to discover…

I’m also including Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli here as it came out in 2000. It’s just a beautiful read about being true to yourself and fearless in showing the world who you are.

Random:

And, finally, we have random ones! I liked the Artemis Fowl series, but only read the first few books as they started coming out later on and I was a bit older by then. I’ve since bought them second hand so am interested to see what I’ll think of them now!

Dr Franklin’s Island by Ann Halam was a contemporary/Sci-Fi standalone, where the main characters are the only survivors of a plane crash on a desert island and fall prey to a mysterious scientist and his genetic experiments. It is weirdly good!!

The Keeper of the Isis Light by Monica Hughes is a Sci-Fi set on the planet of Isis, where the once human Olwen has never been to Earth and is expecting a new colony of humans to arrive… Alone since her parents’ death, neither side is what the other was expecting. I’ve never been a huge Sci-Fi fan, but I thought this book was startlingly unique and the story great.

Thank you all so much for reading, if you made it to the end, you deserve an extra sparkly golden star!

“She’s as magical as the desert sky. As mysterious as her own name. Nobody knows who she is or where she’s from…”

-Jerry Spinelli, Stargirl. 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hailee says:

    I also loved Stargirl! I thought it was super weird, but it was one I reread over and over!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! I loved how quirky she was, we didn’t get as many good, quirky female characters back then!

      Like

Leave a Reply

