Windwitch Spoiler Free Review

“Trust me as if my soul were yours…”
– Susan Dennard, Windwitch.

Hey guys! As some of you might already know, I am a huge fan of Truthwitch, written by Susan Dennard, so I was super excited when the lovely LOVELY people at Tor Books decided to fuel my addiction and send me a copy of Windwitch! *cue fangirling and eternal gratitude*

15539009_1007570322720115_975318027027349504_n

Windwitch is book 2 out of what will be a total of 5 books in The Witchland Series. It is an epic, high fantasy series and extremely well written across the multiple POVs.

In Windwitch, we see more of certain characters (which I was very happy about) and the worldbuilding stretches out to show us more of the Witchlands, which I found very interesting and it definitely improved my knowledge of this world. The politics of the different kingdoms became more convoluted, which although confusing at times, led to some pretty intense scenes!  I can’t tell you too much more information, however, as I don’t want to spoil this for anyone who hasn’t read book 1!

The writing flows really nicely in this book-I found it even better written than the first-and the characters are strong enough to pull off all of the POV shifts. The only issue I had was that initially, I struggled a little to get hooked into the book. I’m not sure if that’s because it had been a while since I’d read Truthwitch and I was a little lost, or if it was the book itself, but I didn’t have that problem with the start of Truthwitch. I feel like these two books would be perfect to binge read together, because then you wouldn’t miss out on any plot points you’ve forgotten! I’d be very interested to reread the first two books to see if or how my opinion changes after I become more familiarised with the books. That said, once I reached a certain point, I was hooked and pretty much read the rest of the book in one sitting!

Overall, I really enjoyed Windwitch and am giving it 4/5 stars. I’m even more excited for book number 3- Bloodwitch, next year, to see where the story takes us next!

Has anyone else read this series? What did you think of it?

“It is always easier to blame gods or legends than it is to face our own mistakes.”

-Susan Dennard, Windwitch.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I really liked Truthwitch as well, so I can’t wait when I can find the time to squeeze Windwitch in!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you enjoy it too!

      Like

  2. I just finished Windwitch and I liked it but I didn’t love it as much as Truthwitch, the new pov’s just didn’t sit that well with me and I didn’t care about those characters 0.0 I loved all the action scenes and Safi and Iseult they had great character development.
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! Yes, I preferred Truthwitch too! I’m still really excited for Bloodwitch though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

