Trick (Spoiler Free!) Review

“Come here, my sweeting. I have a story to share. I shall amuse you, I promise.”

– Natalia Jaster, Trick 

 

 

Hey guys! Happy Friday everyone! I hope you’re all having a lovely day. Today I’m going to be reviewing Trick by Natalia Jaster, who very kindly sent me a copy of her book in exchange for an honest review.

14547769_175146722953419_4479051093250146304_n.jpg

Trick is a standalone fantasy that treads the line between YA and NA. It is set in the kingdom of Whimtany, where Poet is a jester and Princess Briar is visiting from another kingdom. Poet has a secret. Briar is determined to expose him. But not all secrets are necessarily bad, and as Briar discovers this, they become drawn into an alliance, and then, more dangerously, a forbidden attraction to each other.

This book is a delightful chocolate truffle of a book.

As in, it is the sort of book where the language is so beautiful, so whimsical, so evocative, that you just want to savour it. Read it aloud like poetry. Let it melt on your tongue.

For that reason alone, I’d recommend you read it. But this is one of those books that hooks you in, that brings characters vividly to life and that constantly delights you with each unfolding of the plot. It’s original. It’s romantic. It’s good.

I’m giving Trick 5/5 stars and I wish I could give more.

Thank you all for reading my review!

Has anyone else read Trick or is anyone planning to add it to your tbrs? Let me know!

 

“I can flip across a floor like liquid, juggle circles around you, or steal your breath with a twirl. I speak with the silver tongue of a trickster.”

– Natalia Jaster, Trick.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! A 5/5 . Glad you enjoyed it so much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really did! I was bowled over by it and think it’s such a shame it’s so underrated on bookstagram!

      Like

  2. Kirsty says:

    5/5 star books are hard to come across! I’ll have to give this one a go.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you enjoy it! Let me know what you think! ☺️

      Like

  3. This sounds like a very good book😃. Plus, stand fantasies are rather rare.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I really enjoyed that about
      it! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bookishsmaug says:

    This sort of reminds me of Heartless! 😀 I really want to give this a go! ❤ Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you liked Heartless, you’ll like this! It has a similar writing style-very lyrical and quirky 💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

