Author Interview with L.E. Bross!

Hey guys! I’m rounding out the fifth and final author interview with the lovely L.E. Bross. Keep reading to find out more about her and her writing process!

L.E.Bross.jpg

 

     1. Could you tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I live in Maine and work at a trade publication. I was never a writer before I decided to try my hand at it in my mid-30’s, but I loved to read. As a child I spent endless hours curled up in my small town’s library and loved it there. That’s where my love of words started for sure.

 2. When did you decide to start writing romance novels and why?

I grew up reading my grandmothers romance novels and loved them and had always thought “I could do that.” It wasn’t until I turned 35 that I decided it was now or never. That first effort was horrible, but I realized I could do it and I haven’t looked back!

   3. What are you working on at the minute?

I’m working on a new YA idea and I ghostwrite pretty regularly.

 4. What is your favourite thing about writing?

Being able to write stories that I want to read. Plus I love making up the stories behind an idea that might pop into my head. What if is an awesome writing tool!

   5. Can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I write manically. I work full time and have kids in school/sports, etc. so my writing time is very limited. Usually it comes down to my lunch hour each day, so on my drive to work, I try to plan out what I need to write that day and am ready to hit the keyboard running when noon rolls around. Some days I can get out 3k in a shot, others maybe 1k. It’s not a perfect system but it’s what works for me right now.

 6. Do you have any specific music you like to listen to while writing?

I need ambient music with no words when I’m writing. Otherwise I get too distracted and forget what I need to do!

     7. What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

Finding the time. When you are bone tired at the end of the day, sitting down to write is a really hard thing to do. I’m not at my best in the evenings so I really try to get it done at noon. Sometimes though, deadlines loom and I have to force myself to find maybe an extra half hour of writing time. Anything really that keeps me moving forward

 8. Do you have a special time of day you prefer to write in?

Usually at noon.

   9. Which writers inspire you?

Wow, that’s a tough question because really it can be anyone. When I read an amazing book, whether it’s by a familiar author or one totally new to me, it gives me a burst of creativity and inspiration. I do my best writing after I’ve read a really good book!

 10. How do you switch off and unwind when you’re not writing?

I don’t. I may not be writing a lot, but my mind is always there, running over potential plotlines or fixing problems in my head. Luckily it’s easy to think and do other things at the same time so I can enjoy a day out with my family and still be thinking up ideas!

     11. As I have a lot of aspiring authors reading this blog, is there any advice or words of wisdom you’d like to give them? 

Just keep writing! It sounds pretty basic but you can’t get better if you don’t keep at it. My early books that will never see the light of day were pretty bad, but they gave me confidence that I could write and finish a book. And I still have doubts and I’m on book number 11 now!

     12. Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

Thank you for having me today and I hope that everyone loves FALL INTO LOVE!!

 

Thank you so much L.E.Bross and Theresa Dooley for this interview! I hope you guys enjoyed reading this collection of author interviews and that it’s inspired those of you participating in NaNoWriMo this year!

Fall Into Love is a collection of romances out now and I definitely recommend it!

 

Find out more about L.E. Bross and her work by checking out the following links:

Leave a Reply

