Author Interview with Samantha Joyce!

Hey guys! Today I have the fourth installment in my author interviews: Samantha Joyce! She’s a romance writer who penned one of the short stories in Fall Into Love, a delightful collection of short romance stories now available.

Keep reading to discover why she’s a hopeless romantic and what the best fuel for writers is..

14515671_2118245925068058_4133602415456813056_n

Fall Into Love is perfect for cosy reading!

 

  1. Could you tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I’m a nerdy Canadian gal who loves musical theatre, books, and anything to do with Buffy, The Vampire Slayer or Doctor Who. I have my B.A. in English, and have been writing as long as I can remember.

2. When did you decide to start writing romance novels and why?

A few years ago. Really, every story I write always involves some sort of romance element. I am a hopeless romantic (I married my high school sweetheart) and I love happily ever-afters.

 3. What interests you in writing short stories?

I love the challenge of fitting an entire story in a limited amount of words. Although, I’m a rather wordy person, so it definitely is a challenge!

4. What are you working on at the minute?

I just finished the final round of edits for DEALING IN DECEPTION, the companion novel to FLIRTING WITH FAME. It’s told from Veronica’s point of view (who is the villain in FLIRTING WITH FAME) and it was so much fun writing a character like her and expanding on her journey. It comes out November 14th, and I can’t wait to share her story!

 5. What is your favourite thing about writing?

That moment where a story comes together (the Eureka! moment). It’s just a fantastic feeling when something you’ve been struggling with finally works and you have a product you are proud of.

6. Can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I have a full time job, so I don’t have a lot of rituals or anything. I write where and when I have time. Sometimes it’s on my lunch break, sometimes it’s on my phone on the subway. If I do get some time to write at home for a long period of time, I like having tea and candy to fuel me (gummy bears are the best writer fuel there is).

7. Do you have any specific music you like to listen to while writing?

As per above, I don’t get a lot of choice where or when I write, so I don’t always have an option for music. But I do like noise, and if I’m having problems finding a character, I will track down some songs to help get me there

.     8. What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

Writing from the perspective of someone who isn’t exactly the nicest person and finding a way to redeem her. I didn’t want her to be so horrible that no one would want to see her redeemed, but I also had to be true to who she was in FLIRTING WITH FAME. There’s a delicate balance between writing someone who is unlikeable versus someone who is unreadable.

9. Do you have a special time of day you prefer to write in? Or how is your day structured?

Nope. Whenever I can find the time and am inspired.

 10. Which writers inspire you?

Rainbow Rowell is one of my favorites (you can definitely see glimpses of FANGIRL in FLIRTING WITH FAME). I love how she can combine smart writing with funny moments. Cora Carmack does the same, and she was a huge reason I gravitated towards the New Adult genre. Her books are funny, sweet, and hot.

 11. How do you switch off and unwind when you’re not writing?

I love to sing, or perform on stage, so community theatre is a fun way to unwind. Or just vegging out in front of the TV and bingeing on a new show is always a good time as well.

 12. As I have a lot of aspiring authors reading this blog, is there any advice or words of wisdom you’d like to give them? 

Don’t give up. Keep writing. I have A LOT of rejections under my belt, and there were so many times when I wanted to give up. But writing was something I knew I needed to do, and so I just pushed on.

Also, do your research. Read up on Query Letters (if you plan to go the agent route), the do’s and don’ts of querying/manuscripts, etc. Your best tool is the writing community. There are so many writers out there willing to help each other and who are full of knowledge. Reach out to them, check out some forums for writers, and look into contests that help you better your writing. Just keep striving to do better. There is always room for improvement. Be open to criticism and learn from it.

But most of all: Don’t give up.

 13. Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

I think that’s it! Thanks for having me!

 

Thank you ever so much Samantha for this awesome interview, and to Theresa Dooley for organising it all! Thanks for reading guys! Who else found Samantha’s writing advice helpful?

 

Check out the following links to discover more about Samantha Joyce and her writing:

 

Leave a Reply

