Author Interview with Sara Rider!

Hey guys! I’m back today with the third installment of my author interviews from the lovely writers of Fall Into Love, a collection of romances. Today I’m interviewing Sara Rider!

Keep reading to find out all about Sara’s writing habits and what she’s working on at the moment!

Sara Rider.jpg

 

  1. Could you tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I’m the author of the Perfect Play series, which are funny, sexy sports romances. When I’m not writing, I’m busy being a mom to two young girls and working full-time in the field of research ethics. I’m a big sports fan, but I prefer playing them to watching them. I love mountain biking, hate housework, and wish I had an extra hour in the day.

2. When did you decide to start writing romance novels and why?

I’ve always loved writing but never actively pursued it until the end of my graduate studies. Five years ago, I’d handed my PhD thesis and had to wait for six weeks for my defence. It was the first time in my life that had no big deadlines looming, and I didn’t know what to do with myself. I decided to try writing a book and the rest is history.

3. What are you working on at the minute?

I’m finishing up the final details for the third book in the Perfect Play series, which focuses on Jillian Nichols, a sports agent who’s tasked with salvaging the career of Nick Salinger, the biggest goon in the NHL.

 4. What is your favourite thing about writing?

It calms my brain. I’m a pretty anxious person and writing distracts me from my daily worries and stresses. Plotting a novel is like having a giant jigsaw puzzle in my head, and I love being able to instantly jump into a fictional world no matter where I am.

     5. Can you tell us a little about your writing process?

Most of my book ideas start with a single scene that pops into my head. In For The Win, it was the opening scene where Lainey’s former soccer hero and crush, Gabe, accidentally derails her first press conference. From there, I try to figure out what makes the characters fall in love with each other. I work from a loose plot and revise as I go.

 6. Do you have any specific music you like to listen to while writing?

I’m a big fan Canadian indie artists like of Hey Rosetta!, the Arkells, and Matt Mays.

7. What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

One of the hardest things about writing sports romances is balancing the story with the constraints of the pre-existing regulations and timeframes of the sport. Deciding when to bend these rules for the sake of moving the plot forward is tricky, as there are a lot of die-hard sports fans who will pick up on any deviation.

8. Do you have a special time of day you prefer to write in? Or how is your day structured?

Mornings are my most productive writing time, but because of how busy my daily life is, I write whenever and however I can. Most of my writing gets done in a notebook during my lunch break at work.

9. Which writers inspire you?

I adore Julie James for the way she writes strong, competent women, and Jill Shalvis for her blend of humour and heart. I also really admire Shelly Laurenston’s ability to write hilarious, over-the-top characters and zany storylines. Laurenston also happens to write some of the best female friendships out there.

 10. How do you switch off and unwind when you’re not writing?

A long, hot bath, a glass of wine and my e-reader.

 11. As I have a lot of aspiring authors reading this blog, is there any advice or words of wisdom you’d like to give them? 

Passion is the most important thing when it comes to writing. If you don’t absolutely love the story you’re writing, no one else will. But don’t forget to study the craft and learn as much as you can about the technical side of writing. There are a lot of talented storytellers out there, and having a polished manuscript is a key way to stand out.

12. Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

Thanks for having me on your blog!

 

Thank you very much Sara Rider for this inspiring interview, as well as Theresa Dooley for this opportunity!

Check out the following links to find out more about Sara and her work:

Leave a Reply

