Author Interview with Rachel Goodman!

Hey guys! So today I have another treat for you…An interview with author Rachel Goodman!

As quite a few of you as well as myself are participating in NaNoWriMo this year, keep reading for some good inspiration, her interesting choice of music to write to and a cheese love that may even rival my own!

rachel-goodman

 

      1. Thank you so much Rachel for the opportunity to interview you! Could you tell us     a little about yourself and your background? 

 

Thanks for hosting me on The Cosy Reader!

I’m a mojito lover, cheese enthusiast, wanderluster, book junkie, romance writer, and an enginerd. I live in Dallas, TX with my husband and two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels named Oliver Pancake and Rigby Peanut. I’m an engineer by trade and university professor, and when I’m not on campus, you can find me tucked into the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up stories and typing away on the computer.

 2. When did you decide to start writing romance novels and why?

Honestly, I kind of just fell into writing. Growing up I never dreamed I’d one day be a published author, so it’s still kind of surreal to me that this whole thing is real.

My day job as an engineer and engineering professor is very analytical, as I’m sure you can imagine. I was craving a creative outlet, so I started writing at night and on weekends while my husband was earning his MBA. Before I knew it, I’d written a complete manuscript—FROM SCRATCH. My husband is the one who encouraged me to query agents. The rest is history.

   3. What are you working on at the minute?

Currently I am in the process of plotting and outlining the sequel to INTERCEPTING THE CHEF (book #1 in my new How to Score Colorado Blizzards football series), which is currently untitled.

 4. What is your favourite thing about writing?

For me it’s the creative challenge of it and the independence it provides. I love getting lost in my own head, flushing out characters and their motivations, and watching the story unfold with each chapter and draft.

5. Can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I consider myself a plantser (a hybrid of plotter and a pantser). I typically have a very rough plot where I know how the book will start and how it will end, but the rest I develop as I draft.

     6. Do you have any specific music you like to listen to while writing?

Please don’t laugh, but I listen to what is considered “bro country”—the songs that talk about attractive young women, the consumption of alcohol, partying, and pickup trucks. I particularly enjoy Sam Hunt, Luke Bryan, Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, and David Nail. The songs all have a great up-tempo beat that drowns into a sort of background noise when I write.

7. What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

This is three-fold for me. First, the hardest part was writing dual point of view in INTERCEPTING THE CHEF. I have never written from a man’s perspective, and I pray to the cheese gods that I got the “voice” correct. The second was writing about football, a sport which I enjoy watching but quickly learned I know little about. It took A LOT of research and interviews with the coaching staff at the university where I teach to get the plays down correctly, the lingo in line with how it’s spoken on the field, etc. And third, the hardest part was writing under deadline with a full-time job. With your debut novel, you’re writing at your own pace, but when you’re on contract, you’re writing at your publisher’s pace, which took some getting used to.

 8. Do you have a special time of day you prefer to write in? Or how is your day structured?

I typically only write on weekends during the day or during university breaks/holidays. My full time job is pretty demanding, and I don’t have much brain capacity to write when I get home from campus. And since I live in Dallas, I’m lucky that it’s sunny and hot nine months out of the year, so I write outside at every opportunity.

 9. Which writers inspire you?

Roald Dahl (my favorite author) for his imagination and story-telling ability. Kristin Higgins for her laugh-out-loud humor. Karen Slaughter for her ability to write a thriller like no one else can.

     10. How do you switch off and unwind when you’re not writing?

Travelling and FOOD—finding new restaurants around Dallas and exploring a new city through its culinary scene.

 11. As I have a lot of aspiring authors reading this blog, is there any advice or words of  wisdom you’d like to give them? 

The only aspect on this crazy, wild journey that’s in your control is writing the best book you can. And then after you’ve done that, write another one.

 

Thanks for reading guys! And a massive thank you to Rachel and Theresa Dooley for this interview! You can read Rachel’s short story in Fall Into Love, a collection of romances, available now!

To discover more about Rachel and her work, check out the following links:

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love reading author interviews! Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! I’m so glad you enjoyed it ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

