Interview with NYT bestselling Author Melody Anne!

Hey guys! I have a really exciting announcement for you all… I’m going to be interviewing the lovely authors of Fall Into Love, a collection of five romances perfect for snuggling up and reading in cold evenings! Starting the interviews, we have New York Times bestselling author, Melody Anne!

14515671_2118245925068058_4133602415456813056_n

Keep reading to find out what music Melody listens to while she writes, which author is her hero and her inspiring advice for aspiring writers!

Melody Anne.jpg

  1. Could you tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I began writing about six years ago for a career. As with most authors, I wrote all my life, but I never thought it would be a career. I waited until I really had nothing to lose by writing, never believing it would turn out the way it would. I’m so grateful I took the plunge. I work 7 days a week, but on those rare occasions I take time off, it’s all about my family. I love a campfire and a bbq more than anything else. I love that I can do my job anywhere. I’ve been able to write in London and Spain and in campgrounds and on the beach. It doesn’t get better than that 🙂

 2. When did you decide to start writing romance novels and why?

Not until I was in my thirties and I wrote romance because it’s what I’ve always loved to read. There is nothing better than creating a story of two people where the odds are all against them and they still manage to find their happily ever after. I love creating my own universes where the outcome is exactly as I want.

 3. What interests you in writing short stories?

The thing I enjoy about short stories is the challenge of it. I need to satisfy my fans in a third of the time, giving my characters a happy conclusion in a shorter amount of time. It’s difficult to do, but always a good way to stretch my abilities.

 4. What are you working on at the minute?

I’m finishing up my 7 brides story that I’m working on with 6 other authors that I’m really excited about. When that’s done I’m going to be working on my thriller series. I’m so excited about that as it’s a completely new challenge for me.

5. What is your favourite thing about writing?

That I get to create my own worlds and that I can do it anywhere at any time. I love coming up with new challenges that stretch my normal abilities. What a great job to have. I can’t believe I took so long to get into this career.

6. Can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I’m different than a lot of authors. I don’t have a schedule really. I write every day, but sometimes it’s in the morning, sometimes the afternoon, and often the middle of the night. When inspiration hits, I don’t hesitate to grab my computer and get to work. But when I’m not feeling inspired, I still force myself to write because if I stop then it might be easy to not get back to it for a very long time. And I never want this journey to end.

 7. Do you have any specific music you like to listen to while writing?

Country music. It’s my love and I listen to it every day while writing, cleaning, cooking, and relaxing. I occasionally like to rock out to 80’s music, but Country is my favourite.

 8. What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

This last book, 7 brides was hard because it’s about 7 brothers written by 7 different authors so we had to coordinate the timeline and the family events. It was a lot of communication, where normally I just sit down and write. But it’s been a lot of fun.

 9. Do you have a special time of day you prefer to write in? Or how is your day           structured?

First thing I do when I get up is have coffee and check through messages and stuff on my phone, usually while watching an episode of some television show on my ipad. I sit outside if the weather permits, in my office if it doesn’t. Then I hop on my computer and check all social media. After that’s done, I get into writing or editing. I take a few breaks through the day, and a few days a week I take a break for my workout, but other than that, I work from the time I get up until a couple hours before bed. I love my job so it doesn’t feel like work.

    10. Which writers inspire you?

All of them! I love to read and I’m always so impressed by everything out there. The stories people come up with fascinate me. I love it. I love the creation process. Everyone knows that Nora Roberts is my hero. I am so impressed with her incredible work ethic and her extraordinary stories. She’s written over 200 books and still manages to come up with new and exciting adventures. How amazing is that!!

 11. How do you switch off and unwind when you’re not writing?

My friends and family force me to take time off once in a while. I will sit by the fire and have a drink, have a nerf war with a group of friends, or go and get a pedicure. I need to find more balance in my life, I know that, but it’s hard for me not to work when I love it so much. I really do love to do puzzles while watching a movie. Puzzles sooth me. 🙂

 12. As I have a lot of aspiring authors reading this blog, is there any advice or words of wisdom you’d like to give them?

I tell everyone to just begin. Try making a goal of a thousand words a day and then in 3 months you have a story written. You have to begin somewhere and once you start, you’ll never want to stop.

13. Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

This is an amazing world to be a part of and the greatest thing about it is that there’s room for everyone. Share your story and don’t be afraid of people not liking it. The greatest thing about books, is there’s something out there for everyone. I don’t love all genres of writing, just as others have different taste than I do. It all starts with an idea and from there the possibilities are endless.

Thank you so much Melody Anne for taking time out of your busy schedule to be interviewed, I loved reading your answers! Also, a big thank you to Theresa Dooley from Simon & Schuster for arranging this interview!

Fall Into Love was published October 17th 2016 and is perfect for this coziest of seasons! Check out the links below to find out more about Melody Anne and her other books.

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

“Dreams are meant to become reality. Don’t ever think you can’t do something just because it’s difficult.”

– Melody Anne, Turbulent Intentions.

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

