The Coincidence of Coconut Cake Spoiler Free Book Review

“Nothing beat cake for breakfast…”

– Amy E. Reichert, The Coincidence of Coconut Cake.

 

I’m not sure how I can accurately tell you guys how much I loved this book. Like, seriously adored it.

I’m actually quite easy to please with a lot of books to be honest. You’ll probably see a lot of 4 and 5 star reviews here on this blog. Mainly because I have a good eye for knowing what I’ll love in a book, and luckily, the vast majority of books I do pick up, do not disappoint that. But every now and then, I’ll pick up one that I think “huh, that could be good” and it ends up surpassing my expectations to the point where I shove it straight up there into my top ten books. (In all fairness, there’s probably more than ten on my “top ten” but you get the general idea.) And, The Coincidence of Coconut Cake was one such book.

14073193_1608258869473622_782310245_n

 

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert is a romance of mistaken identities. Set in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, the book is narrated from the dual POV of Lou, a chef tirelessly working to make her own restaurant, Luella’s a success, and Al, a British expat and scathing restaurant critic. Do you see where this is going…?

Lou discovers her fiance has been cheating on her the very same day that Al decides to pop in to review her restaurant. Have you ever had one of those days where you literally can’t do a thing right? Yep. That’s the kind of day poor Lou’s having. Needless to say, Al (under his pseudonym) writes a scathing review of the place.

The day that the review runs, Al is having a drink to celebrate, when he runs into Lou drowning her sorrows. As this has all been anonymous, they don’t actually know who each other are at this point, and as chefs rarely leave the kitchen, they haven’t met yet either. Al confesses his dislike of Wisconsin so far and Lou decides to educate him on everything Milwaukee has to offer.

And there begins the most delicious tour of the city as Lou shows Al around from her perspective, sharing with him her favourite foodie experiences. This book is gorgeously sweet, heart warming and funny and I can’t praise it enough. Just don’t read it hungry! There are copious descriptions of food, cooking and baking that are sheer foodie paradise!

I especially loved how Lou and Al keep their private lives hidden from each other and find a fresh start and inspiration in each other as their affection for each other begins to grow. There are plenty of other characters that are all great as well, with some lovely friendships depicted between them.

I’m giving The Coincidence of Coconut Cake 5/5 stars and if I could give more, I would! It’s just a lovely book to read and difficult to put down as the plot gently draws you further and further and in. I also seriously enjoyed the setting! Amy E. Reichert brings the locations to life with all the sights, smells and tastes of each stop on Lou and Al’s journey together. I’ve never read a book set in Wisconsin before, so I liked discovering it along with the pair.

In a word, this book is charming! Just have plenty of snacks on-hand while you’re reading it.

 

“The potato spirals, long twirls coated in bright orange cheese, combined the thin crispiness of a potato chip with a French fry. And the cream puffs…”

– Amy E. Reichert, The Coincidence of Coconut Cake.

 

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Seems like something I would read on a rainy day, wrapped in a blanket by the fireplace… Seems really sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well that sounds deliciously cosy! And it is a sweet book, I definitely recommend it 😊

      Like

  2. Becca says:

    Even reading your description made me feel hungry! Definitely sold me that this is a book to read ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha sorry! And it really is β˜ΊοΈπŸ™Œ

      Like

  3. follow back?πŸ’œ i love your blog !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Sorry but I don’t do follow for follow! πŸ’•

      Like

  4. I’ve been looking for christmas gifts for my aunt when I stumbled upon this review… this sounds literally perfect for her! One gift down – thank you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad I helped! I love getting all my christmas gifts organised early too ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

