How to start your own Bookstagram!

 

Hey guys! I realise this post won’t be for a lot of you seasoned bookstagrammers, but I often get asked questions on how to start a bookstagram account, any tips I have or general basic advice for new bookstagrammers. So, I thought it would be fun to cover the basics in a blog post!

 

14156597_155844661529259_417891371_n.jpg

First of all, you do not need a special camera. Some bookstagrammers have one of course, and that’s great. But I just use my iPad and I know a lot of other bookstagrammers that also use their tablets or phones as well, and that works well!

Secondly, don’t try to worry about a theme or what kind of photos you want to take to begin with. It will change! It took me a good few months of experimenting with different photo set ups and what I liked and was good at to find my groove. You’ll find yours soon enough! Just give yourself a little time and freedom to discover what works for you.

Be a nice person on the internet! I can’t stress this enough. Make sure your reasons for starting bookstagram are the right reasons-do you love books and want to become part of an amazing community? Go for it! If you’re only in it for the attention and followers, then you might want to look elsewhere, because if your heart isn’t in it, you won’t get them from bookstagramming. Being a nice person and commenting lovely messages on other people’s accounts is a good way to start making other bookstagrammer friends.

Although tempting for newcomers, try to stay away from f4f (follow for follow) and s4s (shoutout for shoutout). These actually irritate the hell out of a lot of bookstagrammers (myself included) and although they may get you more followers in the short term, they’ll be ghost followers who won’t like or comment on your photos and you’ll end up with an inflated feed of too many people to keep track of as well. Just be patient and you’ll get there sooner than you think.

Take good quality photos. This one is an important one! Try to take photos in lots of good, natural light and make sure your photos are clear and not blurred or shadowy.

Think of a good name. Short and simple works MUCH better! Try to keep it short and avoid too many ., – , or numbers! You want people to remember your name and like your name! Try to think of something you like-a favourite book or something that says something about you as a reader. I love cosyness so I came up with cosyreads and on other social media sites where that was taken *scowls* I’m The Cosy Reader. Have a look on bookstagram for some good inspo!

Make sure you use hashtags so other bookstagrammers can find you! This sounds like a very basic point but when I first started, I had NO idea what I was doing or which hashtags to even use! If you want ideas, you can always look at which hashtags other bookstagrammers use. But make sure you always include #bookstagram and #books I also like to use #booknerd #bookworm #booklover #YAlovin #igreads #instabook and a few others depending on what’s in my photo!

Try to reply to comments that people leave on your photos. This is always a nice touch and helps you to build connections with other people faster. Plus it’s always fun to fangirl with others!

And I think that about covers the basics! Please let me know if this helps you or if you have any more questions that you’d like me to answer next time!

Thanks for reading!

 

β€œ… a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.”

– George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for the advice! I’m hoping to start Bookstagramming soon! ;-P

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s great! You should definitely go for it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mreadsbooks says:

    Great tips πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you liked it, thanks for reading! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great overview! This is simple to read and very helpful. Also, love the quote at the bottom. So true, Georgie! lol πŸ™‚ Next time I think it would be interesting for beginners if you talked a little about how you plan out your posts. Just an idea!
    Thanks again for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! πŸ’• Do you mean plan out when to post, which books to post or what’s going to be in my photos? πŸ˜…

      Like

      1. Not so much how you get inspiration for photos, though I’m sure that would be of interest as well. But planning out when to post. For example, do you pay attention to stats, or do you use a calendar or app to help plan. Stuff along those lines. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ohhh πŸ˜‚ Well I talked more about my bookstagramming schedule in one of my earlier blog posts-How to find time to Bookstagram ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Cool! I’ll check it out. Thanks! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Becca says:

    Definitely helpful!! Finding good light (I leave for work and get back in the dark >.<) has been my biggest problem, but I kept seeing s4s and f4f from people and was wondering what in the world they were talking about?!? It's more fun to comment and feed hop IMHO O=)

    Becca @ Faerily Bookish

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you found it helpful! You would be best off taking photos in bulk when you’ve got a day off! I blogged not that long ago about how to find time to bookstagram-that one might be more helpful for you! Thanks for reading πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

      Like

  5. Clara Cheng says:

    Love your tips! I particularly agree with don’t participating in a f4f or sfs, those are really insincere and beyond annoying. Urgh.

    http://laxsourire.blogspot.my/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I agree that they’re annoying πŸ™„πŸ˜…

      Like

  6. This is great advice! I wish I knew some of this going in, when I first started my bookstagram. I always feel like I need a theme, but I also like the simple spontaneity of my pictures.

    BTW, I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award.
    You are in no way obligated to participate but if you want to join in, here is my post: https://poreoverthepages.wordpress.com/2016/09/18/blogger-recognition-award/

    Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow thanks so much!! I’ll definitely give this a go! πŸ˜ŠπŸ™Œ

      Like

  7. These are such awesome tips! I can’t agree more with being a friendly, nice person on the internet ^_^
    Geraldine @ Corralling Books

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks lovely! And definitely-let’s spread the love., 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. natalie says:

    I look bookstagrams!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. hehe ☺️ have you got your own bookstagram?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. natalie says:

        I don’t but I love looking at them and watching book tube videos, reading reviews, etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. aw you should try starting your own! It’s so much fun! ☺️

        Like

  9. Cami says:

    It’s always a pleasure to hear from someone with exreptise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

