My INSANE August Wrap-Up!

Soooo in August, I taught one week of a summer English camp, moved cities and into my new apartment with my husband, unpacked a TONNE of boxes, shopped for the new apartment and set up my library. And somehow, I managed to read all of these books?!

14156191_162414834163447_373161535_n.jpg

Now, let me assure you, I do not normally read this many books in one month! My average is between 8 if they’re bigger books or I had a busier month – 16 if they’re smaller/lighter books and I didn’t have as much going on. So 20 is a lot for me! I’m guessing I got a head start that week I was ill after moving….

 

  1. Historical Fiction

I read a LOT of historical fiction this month!

  • The Evening Chorus by Helen Humphreys
  • Summer at Mount Hope by Rosalie Ham
  • Conquest by Tracey Warr
  • The Viking Hostage by Tracey Warr
  • Almodis the Peaceweaver by Tracey Warr
  • The Joyce Girl by Annabel Abbs
  • And I Darken by Kiersten White

 

With the exception of And I Darken, these titles were all sent to me by publishing companies for review, and I’ve blogged quite a few of those reviews already if you want to check them out!

My absolute FAVOURITES were The Joyce Girl, set in 1920’s Paris, The Viking Hostage, there are vikings in it guys!! Summer at Mount Hope, think Austen set in the Australian outback! And, of course, And I Darken, which I was highly anticipating and it did not let me down.

 

      2. Nostalgic Binge 

As a few of you probably already know, this summer I moved from southern Spain back to the UK via July at my parents’ house. Big move, big life change etc etc etc but MOST IMPORTANTLY…. BOOKS! More specifically, books which I had left in my parents’ attic for 5 years! Other books which had been left there for 10 years+ and didn’t even realise were still faithfully being kept by my mum. (Thankfully, she’s a hoarder!)

So, two series which I loved and collected when I was a kid were Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Animorphs. Of course, I had to reread a handful!

Other series which I found books from that had been kept (but have not yet reread!), included Fearless and The Babysitter’s Club. Plus a good stack of Enid Blyton. Obvs.

Any other 90’s kids out there?!

giphy.gif

 

 

     3. A Touch of Magic 

Of course, no stack of books read by me will entirely exclude a little touch of magic… Magical realism, high fantasy and urban fantasies are some of my most favourite genres!

This month, I read:

  • Torn by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

I immensely enjoyed all of these books, and really recommend them all! Torn is book 2 in the Wicked trilogy, a NA urban fantasy set in New Orleans, which is WELL worth the read!

The Raven King was the final book to conclude The Raven Cycle, a quartet of books focusing on Blue who will kill her true love if she kisses him… Stiefvater writes magical realism like no other, so if you haven’t read her before, go for it!

I wasn’t sure what to expect with Wolf by Wolf but it blew me away! This one was the August read for my book club, The Story Voyagers, and is set in 1950’s where Hitler won the war, and only one girl can stop him… With just a touch of sci-fi, this book is thrillingly unique and just brilliant!

 

     4. The Last of the Summer

With summer fading fast, I crammed in a few fluffier books for some lighter reading! Like I said, I went on quite the historical fiction binge and while I enjoy historical fiction a lot, I don’t usually read it as often as this, so I switched it up now and then and read one of these in-between!

  • Cream Puff Murder by Joanne Fluke
  • The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry
  • Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren
  • Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins

 

I am mildly obsessed with the Murder She Baked series by Joanne Fluke…. When I’m in the right mood, I LOVE reading a cozy mystery! And yes, that is a genre all of its own, not to be confused with normal mysteries! Although I enjoy this series, I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone, it is very cheesy, very light and fluffy and can be quite dated in parts. That said, if you like cozy mysteries and baking, give it a go!

Sweet Filthy Boy was also sent to me for review and is a NA contemporary set in the US and Paris. Perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, it was light-hearted, saucy and fun!

The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane was another fluffy read, but the MC was middle aged, so probably not one for younger readers, although I did enjoy it for a light read. And, Summer Days and Summer Nights was a compilation of 12 short stories by big names in YA, like Cassandra Clare and Leigh Bardugo, edited by Stephenie Perkins. This book was great! Very diverse and with a range of contemporary and magical stories, all celebrating summer.

 

And now… HAPPY SEPTEMBER!

I haven’t had an autumn for 6 years guys… I am going to go overboard this one… Think freshly baked cookies, pumpkin pie and pumpkin spiced lattes, halloween EVERYTHING, cosy jumpers, hats, scarves and boots, crisp falling leaves… *squeals with excitement*

giphy (1).gif

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Natalie Clark says:

    Beyond excited that Autumn has come! Need an excuse to get out the cosy socks and snuggle up 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here!! 😁🍁🍂🎃

      Like

  2. WeeReader says:

    You read so many books this month, almost as many as I’ve read all year!! Good job and a great post! I liked the way you sorted the books into genres!

    Like

  3. Clara Cheng says:

    Happy September love! And OMG you’ve read a lot, I wish I could be you gahhh.

    http://laxsourire.blogspot.my

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Trust me, this is unusual for me! 😂 Happy September lovely

      Like

  4. How do you find time for all of these books?!? I have been so busy with life that I haven’t even completed one book within the past three weeks. I think I need to figure out my priorities because at this rate, I will only get around to a book a month. Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I’m a really fast reader! I also don’t watch much TV and I read in bed every night for at least an hour 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

