The Viking Hostage Spoiler Free Review

“I was described as one female Northchild, but my name is Sigrid Thorolfsdottir. I am for sale…”

Set in late 10th century France and Wales,  The Viking Hostage is a richly detailed historical fiction with great female characters: Sigrid, the pagan Norwegian sold into slavery, Aina, an heiress seeking adventure and Adalmode who pines for a man that her father has imprisoned in his dungeon.

You can read the full Goodreads synopsis here.

IMG_5328.JPG

 

I got sucked into this book immediately, captivated by Tracey Warr’s recreation of early Medieval Europe and the contemporary feel of the women’s attitudes. Thirst for adventure, love and freedom? They’ll definitely have you rooting for them throughout this compelling read.

For people looking for historical fiction set further back in time, this is not one to miss! Beautifully written female friendships and love affairs set against a backdrop of viking raids and the brutal society of the time give me no choice but to give The Viking Hostage 5/5 sparkly stars.

Check out the rest of Tracey Warr’s books, along with her blog here and give her a follow!

Thanks for reading everyone, who else is a fan of historical fiction?

 

“…My heart wears the thick ice of the fjord in deepest winter.”

– Tracey Warr, The Viking Hostage.

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds like my kind of book! Nice review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I recommend it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ariana Louise says:

    Love the photo! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks lovely! 💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Clara Cheng says:

    Awww that cover is gorgeous! Definitely gonna check it out ❤

    http://laxsourire.blogspot.my

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WeeReader says:

    I can’t wait to read this one! Great review Mia!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Christine! I hope you enjoy it, too 😘💕

      Liked by 1 person

  5. So glad you really enjoyed the read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really did, thanks!

      Like

  6. Becca says:

    This looks really good!! I was a little wary when I originally saw this pop up on my GR, but now I think I’m going to have to go find a copy! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! And it was an intriguing read-I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! 💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

