How to Find Time to Bookstagram!

Bookstagramming takes a lot of time and effort. Like a lot! Especially if you’re at the point where your account has started growing bigger than you ever thought it would. We all know it’s better to interact with followers, to post every day, sometimes more and to take the best photos we can. But, sometimes keeping up with all of that, all the time, can be a little stressful. And bookstagram has to stay our happy place, guys!

So I thought I’d share how I manage my bookstagramming around, ya know, actually having a life and reading all those books we’re always posting photos of.  This is just my personal bookstagramming routine that I try and stick to and helps me manage my time better, if you’ve found something else that works for you, then that’s great! Tell me all about it in the comments! If not, maybe this will give you some ideas!

IMG_4937

 

Step One: Take Photos in Bulk. 

When the light is good, go for it!! Carve out a little time every so often and take a good amount of photos in bulk. How many you want to take depends on how often you post. I try to spend a little time doing this about twice a week and take about 10 photos each shoot. (10 postable photos, that is, I actually end up with about 20+ of each layout to make sure I get one perfect-ish one each time!)

I also like to use similar props for each photo so I’m not faffing around looking for props and having to change them for every single photo. So maybe I’ll have a candle, cushion, blanket, flowers and plate of cookies sat next to me. I’ll take half the photos with the cushion in the background, half with the blanket and just change the books and the little props as I take photos. If you alternate when you post the photos, they look more varied, even if some of your photos are more similar, as the following two of mine are.

And trust me, this saves  A LOT of time!

 

14072874_1281835905194378_1109061271_n

13722180_1015004731949900_1274302032_n

 

Step Two: Figure out when to post. 

If you come up with a set time or times when you want to be posting every day, you can quickly pop onto Instagram and upload a photo at said time! I like to upload 2-3 photos a day (I know, I can’t stay away!) and always time them roughly around breakfast, lunch and dinner time for me. Yes, sometimes I can’t post as often, or life has other plans, but generally, that’s when you’ll find my photos have been posted. And, this is the most important part, I don’t do anything else on Instagram at that time. Just pop on, post a photo, write my little caption and voila! Done. No looking at other photos, no replying to comments. It takes less than 5 minutes and keeps my account active during the day.

 

Step Three: Find a time in your routine to look at other’s photos. 

It’s hard to do ANYTHING else if you’re constantly checking out your friend’s photos on IG. Like, seriously distracting and you can waste a lot of time that way! Of course, in no way am I saying DON’T look at them, because making friends on bookstagram is one of the most rewarding things ever, but it’s good to organise doing this in a way that fits nicely in with your day and doesn’t end up with you frittering half the day away. And, since I know a lot of you blog, tweet and write as well as having full time jobs/studying/kids etc, time is uber important.

For me, I find the best time is when I’m having my morning coffee. I go through my feed, liking photos, commenting on the ones I love, then spending a little extra time checking out my friend’s photos that I may have missed. I try to do this every day, but if I miss a day, I don’t stress out. And doing it over my coffee that I would have had anyway, fits nicely into my day.

 

Step Four: Decide when you’re going to reply to comments. 

Replying to comments is great. It shows great interaction and can help you make some really great friends! Plus, it’s always nice to fangirl over loved books or recommend books to people. That said, if you have a lot of comments, it can take ageeees to reply to them all! And some posts just spiral out of all control… *whispers* I have a recent shelfie that got over 100 comments and yeah… I haven’t replied to them!!

But, generally, speaking, I do try very hard to reply to everyone. But not instantly. If you’re always trying to keep on top of replying to comments a) you must be extremely productive on IG and I bow down to you, although b) you must be spending a hell of a lot of time doing that!

I reply to all my comments every 2-3 days in one go, when I have a bit of extra time in the evenings. This works well for me and during the rest of the time, I don’t have to worry about replying! I enjoy reading the comments, but there’s no pressure to reply, I know I’m going to get to it soon.

 

13696390_922308587898919_2031684549_n.jpg

 

And that’s it! Those little things are how I manage my bookstagram without it taking over my entire existence, or feeling burnt out and under pressure.

Do any of you guys have a system? What works for you?

 

“Organising is what you do before you do something, so that when you do it, it is not all mixed up.”

– A. A. Milne.

 

 

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Great ideas. I’m not a bookstagrammer, but I have my books, as well as some props I want to start making and figuring out how to make pretty photos without taking forever was exactly what I was looking for! Thank you! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! And making a bookstagram was the best decision ever for me, I’m sure you’ll feel the same 😊 I did another post on easy bookstagram props if you want some more tips!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh great! Thank you! 😊 😊 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. WeeReader says:

    This was a great post Mia! It is always so interesting to see the way other organise their Bookstagram time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! How do you do it? 🙊💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WeeReader says:

        I try to upload between 3 and dinner time everyday 🙊 I hardly ever upload in the morning or the evening and I just reply to comments whenever I get a chance. Although if I’m not feeling fab I’ll leave them a few days!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome tips! I have zero time for social media lately… Hopefully I can get better at it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I know the feeling, hopefully you’ll get on top of it soon 😊

      Like

  4. Great post Mia! I never anticipated how time-consuming it was going to be when I started 🙈 Taking photos in bulk and planning out my photos are definitely my lifesavers but even then, I still struggle finding time *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the feeling! But so worth it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s a great post !!! I also take photos in bulk but I will try your posting/commenting schedule idea !thank you !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I hope it works for you too! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Clara Cheng says:

    I take pictures in bulk too, mostly during the weekends when I’m actually off from work and don’t have any plans in the morning / afternoon. Haha. Great tips here! ❤

    http://laxsourire.blogspot.my

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Taking photos in bulk is definitely a time saver! And thanks!

      Like

  7. Thank you for posting this! I have been meaning to post on my bookstagram for the past few days but I still haven’t! I am so behind, however this artile was super helpful! I follow your account on Insta and your pictures are beyond beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks so much! I’m so glad you found it useful-thanks for taking the time to read it! 😊💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

