And I Darken Spoiler Free Book Review

 

I’m giving 5/5 shiny stars to And I Darken

“No-one expects a princess to be brutal…”

And I Darken, Kiersten White.

13694934_1653849371599729_250720448_n(1).jpg

And here’s why….

And I Darken is the first book of the YA Conqueror’s Saga and a startling opening. Dark, broodingly atmospheric and delightfully original, I was addicted to this book and will sulk until I get the next book safely in my awaiting hands.

Read the full summary on Goodreads here.

Written from the POVs of Lada Dragwlya and her younger, gentler brother, Radu, the book is a re-imagined historical account of Vlad the Impaler-recast as the brutally dark Lada. Set in the 1400s between the Dragwylas’ homeland of Wallachia and the Ottoman Empire, this book deals very well with the historical time period as well as creating vivid characters.

Set over the duration of several years, we see Lada and Radu growing up abandoned by their father and away from their Wallachian homeland, with all the implications that these factors bring. Focusing on the siblings being political pawns and the toxic triangle that becomes their relationship with Mehmed, the sultan’s son, And I Darken is intriguing and dark in all the right places.

I was extremely happy to see that there were several LGBT main characters as well as a positive representation of each side throughout the religious clashes, and feel that Kiersten truly wrote something compellingly original here.

 

“The last time she was up here, she had been… staring up at the sky and dreaming of stars. Now, she looked down and plotted flames.”

And I Darken, Kiersten White.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. itsanovelty says:

    We can sulk together until the next one comes out. I loved this book. Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks and haha will do… It’s so long to wait!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Clara Cheng says:

    Whoops, your first sentence in your review, I’m sold ❤

    http://laxsourire.blogspot.my

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shealea says:

    Your review got me all excited about this book! Nicely written. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

