Why I’m proud of having a massively huge TBR

 

I have a shamefully huge TBR stack. Let’s be honest here, it’s probably more of a mountain than a stack at this point… There must be between 50-100 books on it if we’re including books I want to reread at some point… I’ve genuinely lost count by now! And I know many bookstagrammers that are either in the exact same position as me or have even achieved mountain range status by now.

So we look at our TBRs and panic a little. Because how are we going to read ALL of those books?! And we still want to go book shopping STAT! And just think of all those new releases coming out *very* soon that we must urgently read straight away. And what about staying on top of books to review?! And will we EVER get to reread that old favourite?!

 

13767529_17397724929(1)

 

It’s so normal to think these things. I do it, you do it and we know countless others that do it as well! And if you don’t feel like that then this isn’t the blog post for you! (But I still love you and please come and visit again, thanks!)

So we go on bookstagram, twitter or another blog and comfort ourselves, knowing that everyone else at least is in the same situation and laugh about it and secretly enjoy knowing that it’s just one of those things that makes us all bookworms! (And I don’t mean you have to physically own these books, your TBR could be a massive one you want to read from the library, buying books doesn’t make you a bookworm.)

But I’m proud of my huge, never ending TBR, and here’s why you should be, too!

  • We always have a great book to read. It could be the zombie apocalypse and we’d be happy, (ish?) sitting next to our piles of TBRs, knowing that we’re not going to run out of awesome books to read any time soon. Unless you get eaten alive by zombies and then I really can’t help you there.
  • Chances are, whatever mood you’re in, you’ll have something in that genre to read when you randomly feel like it. I go through phases of reading a cluster of fantasies, contemporaries or mysteries in the space of a few weeks, and I like knowing that currently I have a good stack of mysteries and thrillers just waiting for me to pick up when autumn arrives and the weather gets cosier, and the evenings get darker… I’m not in the mood to read any of those books in August, but I’m savouring the fact that I’ve been collecting that genre for months and I can curl up and read them all when I feel like it.

 

“Looking forward to things is half the pleasure of them…”

Anne of Green Gables, L.M. Montgomery.

 

  • If you buy your books, you are well on your way to owning your own, personal library! Or maybe you’re already there… *wonders how many books constitutes a library?* Perhaps it’s not quite at the stature of Belle’s or the maesters’ libraries just yet, but one day…. *dreams away*

 

giphy.gif

 

  • Let’s face it, they look GOOD! And if you’re a bookstagrammer like me, having plenty of new books to photograph can never be a bad thing! I’m forever taking photos of books I haven’t read yet because they’re sooo gorgeous. Especially the hardbacks. *swoons*

 

  • They’ll be there waiting for us. Need to review a book? Go for it. Want to reread an old favourite you haven’t read in a shamefully long time? Do ittttt. Your TBR is not going anywhere. Honestly, it’ll still be there when you’re done reading. The pressures you feel to read it quickly are all in your head… Your TBR will not murder you in your sleep over jealousy. I promise.

 

  • If your TBRs include a special edition, pre-ordered books or books that are part of a matched set, you can feel good knowing that you’ve secured something truly special. After all, who knows how long these editions will be sold for? If you really want that edition, go for it! It doesn’t matter how long it takes you to read it, you’ll always have it in your possession and can continue to feel smug about owning it loooong after it goes out of print.

 

  • You’ve already bought them! (Or are getting them for free from a library) So if you’re moving cities, going off to uni or between jobs and need to cut back a bit, you have soooo many books that will last you through that period. Good books, books you’re excited about and can’t wait to read, books that will help you maintain your sanity if you have to go on a book buying ban at any point.

 

tsudokustamp_by_jedisenshi-d62ffrw

[Image from here.]

 

Thanks for reading everyone! And let me know how many books are on your TBR/how many books you think it takes to become a library?

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh boy, the amount of books in my tbr is crazy. It’s no longer just a TBR pile, it has become a TBR mountain! Thanks to this post, I no longer feel as guilty as before hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I know the feeling! And I’m glad you’re feeling less guilty, embrace the mountain of gorgeous books! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Georgiana Darcy says:

    Love this! You see, the problem with me is that I move around a lot so either have to leave my books for storage in the country where I will come back eventually or dedicate a separate suitcase and pay extra for it. So, in my case, I reeeeeeeeally need to buy books I’m actually going to read 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the feeling-I just collected books from my parents’ attic after 5/6+ years living abroad! It took me years to get my library all together in one place but travelling and moving around is great fun too! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Georgiana Darcy says:

        You are my hero! 5/6+ years of living abroad? Where? Tell me, tell me!
        I am on my year 4 now.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hehe thanks! And I was teaching English in southern, small town Spain 😊 (I’m originally from the UK and have just moved back now!) Where are you living now?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Georgiana Darcy says:

        Then you should definitely go to China! I lived there for a bit and coming back in 2017. China always needs English teachers.
        I am in the States for the summer but going to Argentina in a week. Super excited!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That sounds fun! But I’m ready for a few years of stability (and enjoying my books!) now! 😁 I have trips booked instead 😏 enjoy the US and Argentina!!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Georgiana Darcy says:

        I definitely get that ahah I wouldn’t mind a bit of stability either

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yeah after living abroad and travelling so much for years, you start to crave a more permanent home! 😅

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Clara Cheng says:

    I’ve totally lost count on my TBR to be honest. Sigh. But I agree to all of the points you’ve said, especially the library part! Haha.

    http://laxsourire.blogspot.my

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the feeling well! And yep, a library is definitely goals 😍😍

      Like

  4. WeeReader says:

    Such a great blog post! I have around 140 books on my TBR (Although I could do with unhauling some of them). I’ve had a lot of reading slumps this year and so the mountain has just grown and grown! It’s so lovely to know that you have all of these adventures waiting for you on your shelves!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw that’s such a lovely way of looking at it! 😌 And 140 is really cool, you should take a photo of them all! I want to knooow what they are!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. tia says says:

    The amount of books on my TBR is insane! I tend to buy books there and then because I don’t actually have shelves right now, but my list is huge! I keep a page in my BuJo and also a notes page on my phone which is constantly being updated with rereads, new releases and others I’ve seen lately! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Drew says:

    I love this Mia! I don’t have that big of a TBR but I love having books waiting for me when I’m in the mood to pick them up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks lovely! And same here, it’s so lovely to have such a good choice waiting for us 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

