Harry Potter and The Cursed Child (spoiler free!) Review

13768216_961626223963544_997779834_n.jpg

So this was a tricky review to write! Hence me taking such a long time to get around to it… I read Harry Potter and The Cursed Child the same time I picked up my pre-ordered copy and read it in a speedy hour or so.

After the initial tears and hyperventilating-I was actually holding another Harry Potter book in my hands! Was I dreaming?!-I managed to calm down enough and got so thoroughly sucked into the story I was a *pleasure* to be around that day. Although to be fair, if you disturb me while I’m reading HP, you deserve your fate!

Anyway, The Cursed Child is set twenty years after the evens of Deathly Hallows with Harry Potter and his son Albus at the centre of the story. Albus had just begun his first year at Hogwarts (cue the tears all over again at a Potter going to Hogwarts…Seriously, this book made me an emotional wreck!) and quickly becomes fast friends with Scorpius Malfoy, Draco Malfoy’s son. Harry and Albus struggle with their awkward relationship throughout the play which takes place over a handful of years and features many beloved characters, Ron, Hermione, Ginny, Draco, Professor McGonagall and others I can’t share because spoilers.

I read this with high expectations-this is new HP canon after all!-and can honestly say I wasn’t disappointed. Partly I think this is because I have an open mind when it comes to books, even my most beloved ones, so I was just grateful to have another HP story to devour, partly because if I don’t like a book, I’m quite good at ignoring it. At the end of the day, this was a HP story, it’s not part of the original set of novels we’ve all read and loved, which I hold so closely to my heart that nothing can tamper with it. So I went for it and read the script without any hesitations or doubts and am so glad I did, because I absolutely loved it.

It was heartfelt, fast paced, magical, hilarious and just perfect.

Although I have some minor complaints, like, Ron should have been in it more etc, this was NOT a book, it was a script, which is a completely different medium and that needs to be allowed for when reading it. I’d love to see the play to see how it compares, but in the meantime, I’m happy to add The Cursed Child to my bookshelves alongside the other HPs and include it in my next marathoning of the series.

 

“My geekness is a-quivering.”

– J.K Rowling, Harry Potter and The Cursed Child.

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Georgiana Darcy says:

    I am glad you liked it and weren’t disappointed! I was a bit intimidated to read it at first because of all those “wtf-is-this?” reviews but I don’t regret it at all!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked it too! Yes, I think some people were always going to be disappointed no matter what as HP is so special to us!

      Like

  2. Clara Cheng says:

    I’m happy that you’d enjoyed it despite the mixed reviews! I won’t be reading it so soon however, I’ll have to reread the series first. Haha.

    http://laxsourire.blogspot.my/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And happy rereading 😊⚡️

      Like

  3. lovelexy says:

    I totally agree, I would of loved some more Ron! If you’re interested, I wrote a blog post journaling all the thoughts I had while reading, feel free to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure, that sounds great! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

