July Book Haul!

Hey guys! So I know I did a huge, epic book haul blog post on all the books and things I’d got from April-June, but here’s another one for the month of July.

I’ve been shopping quite a bit for books at the moment, as I’ve been living abroad in small town southern Spain for the past 5/6 years, so moving back to the UK where there are books as cheap as £3.50 in supermarkets and buy one get one half price has been a bit overexciting for me….

giphy (17).gif

 

One of these cheap, supermarket buys was the adorable The Cosy Tea Shop in the Castle, which I haven’t read yet but looks completely cute and perfect for summer.

13736124_269404416766742_729810662_n.jpg

 

Since I’ve been living in Spain and only visiting my parents in the UK a couple of times a year the past few years, my dad and I have formed a tradition of going book shopping together. So I was very lucky to have been treated to these awesome books by my dad on one such occasion.

He bought me the new, Zoella book club editions of Everything, Everything, The Sky is Everywhere and These Broken Things. Along with a paperback of These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly, which I’ve already read and LOVED and the gorgeous hardback of The Muse by Jessie Burton, author of The Miniaturist (another awesome read). Oh, and Life is Sweet, a decadent looking recipe book from The Hummingbird Bakery, which I’ve visited in London and can honestly say that their cakes taste every bit as good as they look! Mmmm *drools*

13549427_643803815777163_1196739085_n.jpg

 

I’ve also been on a little bit of a winning streak lately and won a copy of With Malice, along with a cool poster from Maximum Pop! Books as well as The Glittering Court from the lovely Andrea at Bookstorefinds. Both books were on my HUGE wishlist, so I’m thrilled I managed to win copies!!

 

13694497_303702399980449_735062793_n

(ACOMAF snuck in here, too… oops)

13725582_270395293320040_1133539936_n

 

I’m currently doing some part time English teaching over 13 days for Chinese children over to the UK on language learning holidays, so I’ve of course bought myself some new books too! So far I’ve ordered Ivory and Bone and And I Darken online but they sadly haven’t arrived yet *glares at Amazon* so I couldn’t include them here! I’ve also bought an interesting looking historical fiction book about Cleopatra’s sister. Not going to lie, the cover did lure me in… And so did the sweet sweet price of £3.80…

 

13642878_108316816272621_1193910586_n

 

My husband picked up this gorgeous looking hardback from the creator of Downton Abbey for me, which I’ve actually never seen before but the book looks great! (I’m also very lucky that I genuinely have the most awesome husband in the world who buys me so many books *feels loved*)

 

13636021_334824183515647_943782169_n

 

I treated myself to my FIRST EVER subscription book box this month too! I’ll share a full unboxing of my July Fairyloot box when I’m sure I won’t be spoiling it for others, but in the meantime, enjoy this photo of it looking beautiful in all its purple gloriousness:

 

IMG_3898 (1).JPG

 

My brother sweetly bought me a funko pop to add to my collection: Luna!!!! Shown here posing with my Illumicrate photo to celebrate being made an Illumicrate rep, which I couldn’t be happier about and am SO excited to receive the August box!!

 

13534429_519666918225037_371201615_n.jpg

 

And, finally, my new favourite toy… My personalised book embosser from Ladd designs! On the top it says: “From the Library of” and on the bottom it says “Mia and Michael” with a decorative “M” in the middle. Luckily we both have the same initial! I wanted to have “The ____ Family” but my husband and I have different surnames as I kept mine after we got married. Our plan was to change both our surnames to a new one we thought up together, but it’s been 5 years and we haven’t thought of a good one yet! Feel free to offer me cool surname suggestions!

Anyway, embossing is SO MUCH FUN GUYS! It adds a lovely touch to your library and makes a really satisfying little crunch when it embosses. Addictive stuff. Check out the company here.

13731250_810272585775104_259634313_n.jpg

 

So that’s my month’s haul! Thanks for reading guys and sorry about the length of this blog post! It just grew and grew… Apparently I’m in a rambly mood today!

What books/bookish stuff have you guys bought this month?

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Read.Dream.Live says:

    Amazing book haul! I am especially loving the book embosser, I may need to go check out the website. Although I am meant to be stopping my spending. But we will see how that goes. Can’t wait for your Fairyloot unboxing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And it would make the perfect birthday or Christmas gift to ask for! It’s so much fun 😂 thanks for reading 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. WeeReader says:

    Such a great book haul Mia! I love that you are so excited about it all! I’m on a book buying ban until September and I can’t wait to buy more!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I’ve just moved back to the country and there are books everywhere! In English!! 😱 So I’m letting myself enjoy that this summer before I have to start limiting it 😂 although it looks like more because I keep winning and receiving stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh and books make me really hyper 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ladd Designs says:

    Amazing book baul! Thank you so much for the feature Mia! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And no problem, once all my books are unpacked, I’ll be getting to use it even more when I put my library together ☺️ I can’t wait!

      Like

  4. Clara Cheng says:

    Ahhh I love embossers too! Haha. And what a gorgeous haul you have in July ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And embossers are the best ☺️

      Like

  5. Wonderful haul! The book embosser is so interesting, I’ve never heard of it and I’m glad I did now. I think it would make a great gift too 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And it would be a perfect gift, it’s so nice to be able to personalise your books in such a classy way!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

