Summer Book Recs

Hey guys! So summer is here… It’s actually my least favourite season to be honest, I’m more of an autumn/winter kind of girl.. I like the cosiness, twinkly lights, pumpkin spice lattes, rain and snow too much to be a huge fan of summer! The main perk is my swimming pool onsite to be honest! That and spending indecent amounts of time reading…

 

IMG_3268 (1).JPG

 

Every summer I tend to crave reading cute contemporaries and love nothing more than getting through a stack of books, preferably with ice cream to hand. Since I’ve been asked LOADS recently what I recommend for summer, here is a list!

 

Contemporary:

13402406_1727322364196797_810206752_n

 

For YA contemporaries, I recommend checking books out by authors Stephanie Perkins, Morgan Matson, Rainbow Rowell and Jenny Han. I’ve read a lot of their books and found them all to be cute, easy, feel good reads that are perfect for dipping into this summer!

For adult contemporaries, I recommend Lindsey Kelk if you’re a fan of Sophie Kinsella as her books are hilarious, light hearted fun. Start with the I Heart series if you’re not sure where to begin, I Heart New York is the first book and you can check out what it’s about here on Goodreads.

11259588_1571043166545270_12587599_n.jpg

I’m also a huge fan of Jenny Colgan. Little Beach Street Bakery is heart warming and has the most adorable puffin in it! Read the synopsis on Goodreads here and  follow Neil the puffin on twitter here. And if you still can’t get enough (like me), check out the sequel: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery.

 

Fantasy:

13260983_276128762735386_2129567717_n.jpg

I binge read Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton and it was great summer reading! Sultry deserts, magic and romance… This book is definitely a summer fantasy. I also absolutely love Wicked by Jennifer L Armentrout. An urban fantasy NA fantasy set in New Orleans with fairies and a steamy love interest, you won’t regret reading it!

interested.gif

 

If you’re looking to binge read a completed series, check out The Wrath and the Dawn duology by Renee Ahdieh. This fantasy retelling of Arabian Nights is just gorgeous. Beautifully written, fierce and romantic, this duology with its sumptuous descriptions of food should come with a trigger warning: WILL MAKE YOU HUNGRY! I’m yet to read the second book so please don’t spoil it for me! But I loved the first book and really recommend it.

 

Historical Fiction:

 

12747693_1708751199345366_1037607659_n.jpg

 

Black Rabbit Hall  by Eve Chase is a dreamy adult stand alone that’s part historical part contemporary and just lovely to read. Read the synopsis on Goodreads here.

 

12822268_498952166973653_2127035917_n (1).jpg

For another amazing blend between the historical and contemporary, I’m addicted to The Seven Sisters series by Lucinda Riley. Books one and two out of seven are already out in stunning editions with amazing story lines set in locations around the world. Check out the first book’s synopsis here.

And for a nice variety of standalone historical fiction books set in exotic locations, check out authors Kate Furnivall and Victoria Hislop. Both have a lot of standalones to choose from, with swoon worthy romances and gorgeous settings. Just perfect for popping into your holiday bag!

13413277_288434608212510_1886797553_n (1).jpg

 

So there you have it, my summer recommendations! Spot any you’ve already read or would like to? Feel free to add more recs in the comments and have a lovely summer!

 

“You have a beautiful laugh. Like the promise of tomorrow.”

– Renne Ahdieh, The Wrath and the Dawn.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I much rather have autumn/winter, but I live on an island so I have to learn to love summer and I do but just the heat. 😓 Contemporaries and fluffy romances are perfect for this season. Great choices! 👌❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m an Autumn/Winter person as well! I always find unless I’m on holiday I have too much to do in the garden etc. in summer to get any reading done 😔 I’m hopefully going to read Seven Sisters this month. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg I loved The Seven Sisters! The third book’s coming out this autumn and I can’t wait!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

