Truthwitch Mini Review

Hermione stumbled upon me taking photos of Truthwitch today and saw a witch... Holding a sword. Harry said that swords were stupid and why have a sword when you could have a broom?! Hermione disagrees. She thinks she'd be a badass witch if she had a sword... 🗡

It took me a long time to pick up Truthwitch. It sat there on my TBR pile for a good few months before I got around to finally reading it! I’d heard so many mixed reviews I wasn’t sure about it.

In the end, I loved it so much I read it in two days.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is book one of The Witchlands Series and focuses on best friends and main characters Safi and Iz. The book’s set in The Witchlands-a fantasy world of empires and kingdoms where many people have special witchy powers. And Safi’s witchy powers are especially rare as she is a truthwitch, able to discern lies from falsehoods.

Reading this book, you are thrown straight into an epic fantasy world with immense worldbuilding, a fast paced plot crammed with adventures and one of the best female friendships between characters. My only criticism is that there is a lot to take in, so sometimes it can be a little confusing. On the whole, I’d give it 5/5 stars as that’s to be expected in a high fantasy book!

“If you wanted to, Safiya, you could bend and shape the world.”
― Susan Dennard, Truthwitch

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds good! I’m putting this on TBR list.
    Btw, welcome to WordPress! 😊🎉🎊🎈🎉

    Like

    1. Thanks lovely! 😘💕

      Like

  2. A lovely little review! This book has been constantly changing priority level on my TBR as people seem to have very mixed views on it! Hopefully I will get to it sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was the same for me! I put it off because a lot of people said it wasn’t very good or boring but I loved it and whizzed through it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

