The Shadow Queen Mini Review

Omg you guys… This book was great! And just the thing to lift me out of my I-still-can’t-get-over-LadyMidnight-and-my-TBR-pile-is-too-huge-what-on-earth-do-I-read-next funk.

The Shadow Queen, written by C.J.Redwine is a fantasy retelling of Snow White if Snow White were a kickass heroine and the huntsman were a hot dragon shifting guy. Intrigued already? You should be!

This book was perfectly paced and the world building on point. Plus it has a gorgeous map.

I rated this book 4/5 stars as some parts were a little repetitive in the middle. However I was quickly engrossed in this book and it was a nice, fast read too. A perfect mid-week book!

I was surprised by the ending as I believed that this was book 1 in a new trilogy… Imagine my surprise when the ending concluded perfectly! After some rapid googling I was delighted to discover that this is book 1 in the Ravenspire series, a fairytale series of standalones!

Presumably, C.J.Redwine is re-imagining one fairy-tale per book, all set in the magical land of Ravenspire. I can’t wait to read more of her gorgeous world building.Who else loved this book?

“Her skin was as white as snow, her lips as red as blood, and her long hair as black as ebony.”
― C.J. Redwine, The Shadow Queen

Leave a Reply

